Sausage and Apple Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This delicious casserole tastes like french toast with apples, sausage, and cinnamon-y sweetness. **My variations: --I always add extra apple dices (the recipe doesn't call for enough, IMO) --I go a little lighter on the cheese (to preserve the sweet, french-toast-y flavor --I use homemade whole wheat bread instead of white french bread, which results in a more solid (less soggy) french toast texture --I store it in the fridge already baked (not before baking, as the recipe says) and then the next day, I slice it and bake it up in the toaster oven for extra crispy exterior. The small, as it toasts, is amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
We have been making this casserole for years, and it pleases both the savory & sweet crowd at brunch! You will love this recipe as written, but I have made modifications over the years that are also good. I prefer to use Jimmy Dean's Maple Sausage for added sweetness. I have also used cinnamon swirl, sourdough, and cinnamon raisen bread in place of the French bread, and I think they're all great. I also prefer to use Granny Smith (tart) or Honey Crisp apples for their crisp texture, and top with Gruyere cheese instead of cheddar (but both are great). TIP: Make it the night before you want to serve it, cover, and refrigerate overnight. Then pull it out and let it sit on your counter for 30 - 45 minutes before you pop it in the oven. Great for Christmas morning, so you can sit by the tree instead of in your kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusySpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Easy to make. A nice combination of sweet and savory flavors. Substituted asiago bread cubes for some of the french bread, which made it better. Also used mild italian sausage that I already had cooked. Definitely serve with syrup to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
In step 2 it tells you what to do with the apples. You add to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Good with precooked bacon instead of sausage as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellensburg, Washington, USA
Living In: Monument, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very easy and REALLY GOOD! I've never made a breakfast casserole...I'm hooked. Had to use what I had on hand. I cut recipe in half and used wheat bread instead of French bread, browned up 8oz pork sausage and I didn't have any shredded cheddar. I used 1 1/2 cps 4 cheese italian and dotted some velvetta cheese on top with alittle more 4 cheese italian. I always have an apple on hand and used a mutsu apple.....this baked up wonderful and now I can't wait to make it the way the recipe calls for. I used an 8x8 pan in the toaster oven. My husband loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is good. I thought it was better after it had set for 20 minutes instead of just 10. One of those better the next day dishes. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was fantastic. I wanted a different spin on the typical breakfast casserole and when I saw this one I had to try it. Everyone loved it! I drizzled some syrup over the top before serving it. I also used granny smith apples instead of Golden Delicious. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovegoodfood2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Living In: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This was my first attempt at a Breakfast Casserole and it turned out great! I used twice the apples, Jimmy Dean Maple flavored sausage and used raisin bread instead of French bread, as another reviewer had suggested. I drizzled maple syrup over mine as I have a SWEET tooth. My boyfriend - who is more for savory - preferred his without syrup and had THREE helpings. He LOVED this, haha. I will be making this again, I may even add some raisins next time as they were sooooo good in the bread. This dish did taste best once it "sat" for about 15-20 mins out off the oven. Looking forward to having this again on Christmas morning, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. I made a few variations. Cooked sausage links, chopped up and added an extra cup. I also added extra apples, sugar and cinamon, 1 cup of chopped walnuts and some nutmeg. I used three kinds of bread, french, cinamon and wheat. I only used 1/2 of the cheese that was called for. I made it the night before and stored it in the fridge until I baked it the next morning. It came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Christmas Breakfast Sausage Casserole

Make this special casserole for a Christmas morning treat.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States