Sausage, Zucchini and Two Pepper Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
This was delicous. It even got my picky children to eat zucchini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
All things considered, this turned out to be pretty tasty. I made a lot of substitutions (sake instead of wine, green peppers instead of red and yellow, and canned mushrooms) and a few omissions (didn't have any crushed red pepper, left out the salt.) One change I would make to the recipe is to wait to boil the pasta until you are simmering the rest of the mixture. I underestimated the time it would take to get to that step. Also, the sauce never thickened so I added a bit of corn starch towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
A new family favorite. I adjusted the recipe just a bit. I added some heavy cream to the sauce to make a cream sauce and also some parmesan cheese and left out the wine. It is absolutley delicious. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wish I could give 4.5 stars, almost perfect. Was looking for a recipe to use some fresh zucchini and pork sausage given to us and this did the trick! I modified some things due to what I had on hand. Used bow tie pasta instead of penne (prettier than penne), a whole yellow onion, doubled all spices except salt (was a little bland before). Omitted the wine, peas, and parmesan. Only used one green pepper. Used chicken bullion instead of stock. Also had to add corn starch to thicken at the end. Next time I will be prepared and have the colored peppers on hand to improve the presentation. Deffinately a keeper for the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Great recipe! I think my husband could have eaten the whole dish by himself. The sauce is very light and tasty as is, but I added 1/2 cup of heavy cream to thicken it up a bit. Next time I'll try adding cornstarch to thicken even more. I used sweet italian sausage instead of spicy and it was delicious! I'm sure I'll be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
We all love this recipe. Great weeknight dinner. I cook the sausages seperately from the vegetables to reduce the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Yum! I doubled this, so that there would be plenty to feed a family of four and produce leftovers for my hubby! I made a couple minor changes: First, I used Chardonnay instead of the Marsala wine because it is what I had. Second, I left out the peas since my hubby is allergic. We loved this! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband and I felt like pasta but didn't want a heavy sauce. This recipe was just what we wanted. I omitted the zucchini and the peas. I used a whole yellow onion instead. We added a cubed chicken breast.We also added a chopped fresh tomato at the very end. It was really good and we'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This dish tasted good but I prefer my vegetables almost al dente and by sautéing them and then pretty much boiling them for another 20 minutes in the stock they turned out too mushy for my liking. I think next time I will skip the sautéing, boil in wine & stock for only 15 minutes and cut the stock down to 1-1/2 cups as I too needed to use cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Fantastic! I used 1/2c milk chocolate and 1/2c semi-sweet chips. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States