Sausage, Zucchini and Two Pepper Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
Wish I could give 4.5 stars, almost perfect. Was looking for a recipe to use some fresh zucchini and pork sausage given to us and this did the trick! I modified some things due to what I had on hand. Used bow tie pasta instead of penne (prettier than penne), a whole yellow onion, doubled all spices except salt (was a little bland before). Omitted the wine, peas, and parmesan. Only used one green pepper. Used chicken bullion instead of stock. Also had to add corn starch to thicken at the end. Next time I will be prepared and have the colored peppers on hand to improve the presentation. Deffinately a keeper for the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
Tastes great and light. Only change I would make is reducing the stock to one cup. The sauce never thickened, even after sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
My husband and I felt like pasta but didn't want a heavy sauce. This recipe was just what we wanted. I omitted the zucchini and the peas. I used a whole yellow onion instead. We added a cubed chicken breast.We also added a chopped fresh tomato at the very end. It was really good and we'll definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Great recipe!! Not difficult at all! I used Madeira wine instead (because it was what I had on hand). Lots of flavor and relatively quick considering all the sauteing you're doing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Marlton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
Fantastic! I used 1/2c milk chocolate and 1/2c semi-sweet chips. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
I love this recipe! My boyfriend and his friends beg me to make it when they are over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon M
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
Thought this came together very quickly. This rates closer to a 3.5 for me instead of four because of the spiciness (and we love spicy). Using mild sausage would yield a better end result or leave out the cayenne. Used a great deal more marsala and left out the peas because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
All things considered, this turned out to be pretty tasty. I made a lot of substitutions (sake instead of wine, green peppers instead of red and yellow, and canned mushrooms) and a few omissions (didn't have any crushed red pepper, left out the salt.) One change I would make to the recipe is to wait to boil the pasta until you are simmering the rest of the mixture. I underestimated the time it would take to get to that step. Also, the sauce never thickened so I added a bit of corn starch towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2004
This was pretty good. I didn't use the peppers and used frozen peas right out of the bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
too much trouble for a mediocre taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Pasta with Scallops, Zucchini, and Tomatoes

See how to make a simple pasta with scallops, zucchini, and tomatoes.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States