Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is the recipe I use. I never had the measurements either, Mom taught me the same, add till it looks right. I use the large bag of Pepperidge Farms herbed stuffing crumbs, so yummy. They are dry so I add chicken broth to moisten. Dont drain the sausage after cooked, add it to the mixture for extra flavor. Happy Turkey Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I made this for a big get together I had, and made it in the crock pot. I continued to add broth as it cooked, and I used a few different breads (what I had on hand, I like options). So easy! And good! It is almost as good as my Grandmother's (and hers has almost started fights at Christmas). I made a vegetarian version too, and that was also a hit. I'll be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Great recipe! I used one loaf of white bread and one loaf of wheat bread - didn't use the end pieces. I toasted every slice and cut off all the crusts, then cubed. I only used one scant teaspoon of poultry seasoning and added one teaspoon garlic pepper. I didn't have any sausage drippings - so I used more butter than listed. If I had baked this as a side dish - I might have had to add more liquid (chicken broth). But - since I baked it in the turkey (12 lb.)- no additional liquid was needed. It came out perfectly!!!!!!!! This is the recipe I will use from now on. For variety - I might try using "hot" sausage next year - or maybe a different type of sliced bread (potato??). Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
I really like this stuffing. I toasted the bread until very dry. Greased a 9x13 pan, baked at 350 for 45 minutes. I basted it with the dripping from my chicken twice during the 45 minutes and it came out perfect. This will be the recipe I use from now on. No more boxed stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Matherville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Best stuffing ever! I substituted Sweet Italian sausage for the breakfast sausage. Instead of stuffing the bird I put the stuffing in a crockpot and added a little chicken stock to moisten and cooked it on high for about an hour. Simple recipe, and it got the most compliments. This one definitely goes into my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
This stuffing was all right, but the major problem with it is that I tried to stuff my turkey with this, and it ended up very wet. Almost too wet. It was MUCH better outside of the turkey. It was not at all reminiscent of my mom's recipe, which I think I'm going to stick with. Sorry. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This Stuffing comes from the old country Scotland that is. I've made this recipe my whole adult life. MY mother taught me this and hers taught her. If you try you'll buy guaranteed. 5*****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This was fantastic. Everyone said it was better than my mom's and that is the ultimate compliment. I deviated a little by adding 1/2 can of cream of celery and 2 cans of mushroom pieces/stems. It couldnt have been tastier!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Yeah, this one is a definite keeper. The flavor is as good as any dressing I have ever had. I prepared mine in a slow cooker. Since I doubled the recipe, until the bread compacted, it barely fit into my large slow cooker. That's okay, as the stuffing cooks, it will shrink, giving you a little space at the top to stir the ingredients. As another reviewer suggested, I used turkey drippings to enhance the flavor and help the dressing maintain the right consistency (not dry out). I started the dressing on high, but lowered it to low, and then warm once we started eating. Cooking this in the slow cooker allows one to prepare the dressing far in advance. When on high, if you give it time between stirrings, the dressing forms a nice little crust where the bottom and side walls meet, which will be pleasing to any diners that enjoy a little crunch in the dressing. What a great recipe. This one rocks. An easy five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
The only change we made to this stuffing was to use 2 tsp. poultry seasoning instead of 3 tsp. which was perfect. This is such an easy recipe, and everyone devoured it. I think next time, I might try to make it in the crockpot. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States