Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I made this for Thanksgiving dinner and used one loaf wheat and one loaf white bread as stated in an earlier review, then my husband suggested I use sage flavored sausage, which was amazing. The best mistake came when I unknowingly added pineapple juice right before baking instead of chicken broth to have moist stuffing, I didn't want it too dry. It was so good and everyone raved about it. So I suggest sage sausage and pineapple juice, I'll make it again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I really liked this. I stuffed my Thanksgiving turkey with it and baked the rest in a casserole. My only criticism is that it is a little too salty. I think I might not use quite so much sausage next time. Otherwise, it was very tasty and worth making again. Also, it's quite easy to prepare. I recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I have been using this exact recipe for 20 years now. It has always been a hit, and the only complaint is that I never made enough! I now triple this recipe. Fabulous dish anytime, but extra special with Thaksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debora Durall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
My Mom always made this except somewhere along the line the sausage got substituted for hamburg - probably due to cost. I ususally combine both. If not stuffing the bird, I don't use as much butter but do use some chicken or turkey stock to moisten it up. I have also used bagged bread stuffing cubes, rather than make my own (sometimes, anything to save time). Either way - Thanksgiving is just not the same without this stuffing at my house...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I've been using this stuffing also without proportional amounts. I also add 1 pkg. of defrosted creamed spinach and I use loose fresh sausage instead of patties. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is the recipe I use. I never had the measurements either, Mom taught me the same, add till it looks right. I use the large bag of Pepperidge Farms herbed stuffing crumbs, so yummy. They are dry so I add chicken broth to moisten. Dont drain the sausage after cooked, add it to the mixture for extra flavor. Happy Turkey Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This recipe is VERY similar to one that my Mom passed down to me with no proportions. Changes are: 1/2 pound of sausage, 1/2 onion, the LIVER of the turkey chopped EXTREMELY FINE, and one egg. This is my families favorite part of the bird! :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
We make a very similar stuffing except that we use the Pepperidge Farms dry herb seasoned stuffing mix, add diced onions, diced celery, raisens, diced apples,crumbled spicy sausage, and lots of poultry seasoning. It's then moistened very well with chicken or turkey stock before we stuff the bird and/or put in a baking dish for extra stuffing. It's one of my families favorites for Thanksgiving and haven't had another kind that we like as much as this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Beech Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
My family LOVES this stuffing. The base recipe works well with apples and raisins instead of sausage too, yummy! This is the same stuffing recipe my mom taught me years ago, only she never gave me measurements. "Add this until it looks right..." LOL. I'm so glad to have had someone else figure out proportions! Now when guests ask for the recipe, I can give it to them!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Shurilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Collinsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
Wonderful, thanks for such a tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 71-80 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States