Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Hands-down, my favorite stuffing recipe yet, and I'm not even a sausage-person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midnightbrew79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Savannah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Substitute the margarine for butter, use fresh herbs such as thyme, sage and rosemary along with the poultry spice, and add some turkey or chicken stock for more moisture. Season with salt and pepper. Love the fact that there is sausage in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jarf

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed the instructions EXACTLY as listed and this dish was destroyed at Thanksgiving Dinner! Grown-ups that don't do stuffing and finicky kids alike ate this without taking a breath. I will make this for more than the holidays and do a once per month family dinner with this dish. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
definitely the most popular dish on the pre-thanksgiving table. easy to make. broke up the butcher shop breakfast sausage in big chunks (1/2" or bigger) and added extra bread, celery, onions and butter to make a bigger batch. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am giving this five stars as it is very close to the stuffing I make for my family. The only changes I make is to add mild Italian sausage (casings removed) and I use the drippings from the sausage, no additional butter (or very little). I like to dry out my bread cubes as well. Then I also add sage, parsley, and thyme as well as the poultry seasoning. I add to taste and have never measured it. When you put any additional stuffing into a casserole dish, place the neck of the turkey on top and then cover with foil. This will keep your stuffing moist and then you can mix that with the stuffing from the turkey. Yum, yum, yum - we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Not too shabby as a base recipe. I think I'd add the browned pork sausage & the seasonings to the onion/celery mix prior to adding the bread in order to make sure the seasonings & pork are well-incorporated. Believe it or not, if you mince the turkey liver, add it to the pork sausage & cook it til no longer pink,it gives a subtle enhancement to the flavor. I agree about adding either chicken or turkey stock to it, but as I get older, my tolerance for salt goes down, so i use the low-sodium stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
this is the best stuffing recipe I have ever had. My boyfriend makes it every year for thanksgiving and the only thing we change is using fresh herbs instead of poultry seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this but made it with homemade cornbread instead and added some chicken stock. It turned out great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My husband didn't like it as much as my usual recipe. It needed more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made this recipe the past three Thanksgivings and won a cook off with it. I follow the directions for the recipe, but I add chicken stock and garlic. I add chicken stock a little at a time, mixing it in with my hands, until it feels moist. It usually takes about 32oz of stock. I back it at 350 degrees for about an hour or until the top is browned. I use french bread or cheap white sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States