Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Sigh. Way, way, way too salty as made. Not enough moisture, had to add chicken stock in order to get it to proper consistency. I don't think all of the poultry seasoning is needed, whether you stuff your bird or not (I did). Sausage made it a little too greasy for my liking, as well. Will stick with my old recipe, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Very simple to prepare and very tasty. In my family, this is considered "traditional" stuffing. Thanks for sharing. If you are worried about the lack of cooking instructions, remember, stuffing does not have any "raw" ingredients - everything is precooked. You are really just warming and browning it. Some people like their stuffing crispy and some like it soft and moist - either way, just keep an eye on it and take it out when it is right for you. (The nice thing is that you can usually pop it in the oven in between other dishes.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a success. I used low fat sausages, and stuck to the recipe. This stuffing has great flavor, but I can only give this recipe four stars because of the lack of cooking time directions. I wasn't sure how long to cook it, so I just stuffed my bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I LOVE this stuffing. I made it exact to recipe and was just a wonderful side to our Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Wonderful home made stuffing recipe. I added a bit of extra butter to make it more crisp. Everyone at our Christmas dinner loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akakizzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mulberry, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I picked up some Itallian sausage from the butcher shop and served this dish on Christmas with Crowned Pork Roast. The stuffing was the best part. Thanks for this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Pretty good recipe. Does need a little chicken stock as another stated and you can add quite a few different things to personalize the recipe: bacon, apples, different spice, etc. A couple of people mentioned the lack of cooking instructions and the increased poultry spice. What they didn't notice is this recipe is for turkey stuffing. It's meant to be cooked in the bird. No cooking instructions are required as you would cook it just like a stuffed turkey. The increased spices are required because the spices are diluted from all the wonderful turkey juice that will be flowing through the stuffing. If your sausage is lean, your bread dry, and you're not planning on using the recipe as stated (in a turkey) then reduce the spice, add some chicken broth till moist, put in a covered baking dish for an hour at 350°, and then remove the cover and cook for another 20 minutes to brown/crisp the top. You'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
332 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This stuffing was delicious, and very easy. Just make sure to add some chicken stock...it wasn't on the ingredient list, but is definitely essential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is similar to my mother's traditional recipe,with a few critical ommissions. I am not good with measurements... do it by taste... so a good handful of chopped fresh parsley and a cup or so of chopped walnuts really complement. Also, I use sage sausage, and rather than poultry seasoning, (we already have the parsley)plenty sage, rosemary and thyme (la la la). I stuff it into the turkey (bah humbug to non-stuffer panic)and always make extra, bake in a covered casserole. When you unstuff the turkey, you can mix some of that wetter stuffing in with the dryer baked batch. We all fight over it, later adding it cold with real cranberry sauce to turkey sandwiches w/salt,pepper,mayo. mmmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Out of this world...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Galvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States