Sausage Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I am giving this five stars as it is very close to the stuffing I make for my family. The only changes I make is to add mild Italian sausage (casings removed) and I use the drippings from the sausage, no additional butter (or very little). I like to dry out my bread cubes as well. Then I also add sage, parsley, and thyme as well as the poultry seasoning. I add to taste and have never measured it. When you put any additional stuffing into a casserole dish, place the neck of the turkey on top and then cover with foil. This will keep your stuffing moist and then you can mix that with the stuffing from the turkey. Yum, yum, yum - we love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davena

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Not too shabby as a base recipe. I think I'd add the browned pork sausage & the seasonings to the onion/celery mix prior to adding the bread in order to make sure the seasonings & pork are well-incorporated. Believe it or not, if you mince the turkey liver, add it to the pork sausage & cook it til no longer pink,it gives a subtle enhancement to the flavor. I agree about adding either chicken or turkey stock to it, but as I get older, my tolerance for salt goes down, so i use the low-sodium stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
this is the best stuffing recipe I have ever had. My boyfriend makes it every year for thanksgiving and the only thing we change is using fresh herbs instead of poultry seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I made this but made it with homemade cornbread instead and added some chicken stock. It turned out great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
My husband didn't like it as much as my usual recipe. It needed more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I've made this recipe the past three Thanksgivings and won a cook off with it. I follow the directions for the recipe, but I add chicken stock and garlic. I add chicken stock a little at a time, mixing it in with my hands, until it feels moist. It usually takes about 32oz of stock. I back it at 350 degrees for about an hour or until the top is browned. I use french bread or cheap white sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I used this recipe as the foundation for my stuffing and true to the original posters word, even with small changes, this is a fool proof, knock it out of the park recipe! Honestly, my other half said "Best stuffing I have EVER had in my life!" and I agree! I used a spicy breakfast sausage and added in chopped dried cranberries and also sautéed a little chopped tart & sweet apple with the onion & celery also because I like a very moist dressing, I used a little chicken broth to moisten it even more but, other than that I pretty much followed this recipe. I know this is my stuffing recipe from now on! Thank you for the fantastic recipe and the secret tip that you don't have to be so rigid and precise for this to be the most delicious stuffing / dressing you have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hurricane

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I've used this recipe for years. My family and friends LOVE it every year. When used as a dressing (not stuffed into a bird) a broth is needed to keep moist. I like Vegetable broth, myself. I also really like using whole wheat bread. It adds a depth of flavor that I enjoy. I put the oven on 400 and stir and add broth if needed every 10 minutes until it's where I want it. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do. Yay Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I needed to find a lower carb dressing/stuffing this year for my dad who happens to be diabetic. While this isn't officially "low-carb," it really is lower in carbs & is quite yummy! It's a new favorite at our house - we had it at Thanksgiving & Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I use 12 grain bread for a little nutty flavour and some added texture, some cubed apple and two beaten eggs just before stuffing the turkey. Delicious every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage Stuffing

See how to make a 5-star sausage stuffing for Thanksgiving turkey.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States