Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Very Good...didn't give 5 stars because of the changes I made. I made quite a few and used the smaller bite size mushrooms, 1 lb Ground Hot Italian Sausage and mixed with the 8oz Cream Cheese...the consistency was perfect that way. Seems like it would be too much cream cheese by the recipe. I also chopped some stems and added to the sausage mixture then sprinkled parmesan cheese on top and baked at 400 for about 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marley_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I make these all time! I use Jimmy Dean Sage or Spicy sausage. I also put the sausage in a food processer to make the sausage finer. It blends easier with the cream cheese and the mushrooms are easier to stuff. It takes a little longer put worth the effort for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I make these for pot lucks and sometimes just for dinner with the family. I also pour some melted butter on top and sprinkle them with colby/jack cheese before putting them in the oven. It makes them moister and creates a pretty marbled look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These are awesome - I've been making this recipe for years. I've made lots of other good stuffed mushrooms, but these are goof-proof and always get asked for (no matter how many times I tell people how to make them). I usually use sage sausage and add some hot pepper flakes, or vice versa. My neice has been helpping me make these at Thanksgiving since she was 3 - I make the filling before she gets here and she wears my apron and fills all the mushrooms. Great tradition, and so easy to pull off. Thanks for posting this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I'm glad I tasted one of these before stuffing the rest of them or serving because they were quite bland. I used a whole pound of sausage with the 8 oz. of cream cheese and added salt and fresh ground pepper. THEN, they were very good and people raved. Slightly greasy so next time I will drain the sausage better. Also, I baked at 350 for about 10 minutes and then broiled for a couple of minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe. It was so easy and delicious. I got rave reviews and the were gone in minutes. The only change I make when making them was to dip the tops in bread crumbs after I stuffed them. This way they had a nice looking crust on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
Very good! I did make a few changes. I made them twice, once with spicy breakfast sausage, and once with italian sausage. Both very good. I also added oregano, basil, garlic, and salt. In addition, I drizzled the baking pan with a bit of olive oil to give the mushrooms some moistness, and cooked at 400 for about ten minutes instead of broiling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2001
I have been making this recipe for years! They are SO good, can't stop eating at just one! I sometimes add onions, some of the mushroom stems chopped fine or some hot sauce for a little heat. Easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
Because of the cream cheese, it could be on the bland side. It probably would taste better with spicier sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2001
These are simple and great. I've made them twice, and they all disappear fast! I found that I needed to use 1 1/4 pounds mushrooms to use up all of the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States