Sausage Stuffed Mushrooms I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I tweaked this recipe quite a bit to get more flavor: I used Italian sausage, only half the cream cheese, added shallots and garlic along with the chopped stems to the cooking sausage and Italian seasonings. When the sausage was cooked, I drained it and then mixed in the cream cheese with about 1/2 cup of bread crumbs and 1/2 cup red wine. I did not add the wine to the pan that they baked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I've made these mushrooms on a couple of occassions. The first time I made them I followed the recipe as directed and wound up with a lot of extra filling. I also didn't care too much for the taste that the wine left on the mushrooms when they were cookin in it. The next time I made them I added some worcestershire sauce to the mix that they cook in and absolutely loved them!! Both ways however they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alec1124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Neviawen
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This is a great recipe for when entertaining guests at your house. I used it for a football party this weekend and they were a hit. I had to modify this recipe a bit because like one of the other reviewers said, the mixture made more mushrooms than what is in the recipe. The recipe calls for 2 packages of cream cheese but I only used one package. I also used red port wine instead of regular red wine. In my opinion, port wine has a more flavorful taste that I think is better paired with mushrooms. Since there were alot more mushrooms then intended I ended up using 1 and 1/4 cups of the port wine because some of this is to pour overtop the mushrooms before you put them in the oven. The recipe says it makes 18 mushrooms but I ended up making 45 mushrooms. They weren't small mushrooms either, medium to large sized mushrooms, and since I only used 1 pack of cream cheese I was surprised that the mixture still was too much. I could imagine how many more mushrooms I would have needed if I had followed the recipe and used 2 packs of cream cheese. Plus, although I ended up w/ 45 mushrooms in the end I only used the stems from the original 18 mushrooms for the stuffing mixture. Note when baking: When you place these mushrooms in your baking dish make sure you put them in there touching each other. If not then they may not stand up straight and roll over. It also helps some of the wine on the bottom of the pan to cook all the caps of the mushrooms evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2000
Think the mushrooms would have tasted better without the wine added in the end. I've used other stuffed mushroom recipes that were easier than this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
I scaled this recipe to make 8 stuffed mushrooms. Personally i did not like them, but my husband did. The wine poured over top made them pretty soggy and gross. I did not mind the wine added to the stuffing. I might make them again and skip the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Reduced the recipe two two servings. Used Alouette instead of plain cream cheese; added garlic and fresh ground black pepper. Didn't add the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I have made these mushrooms for a few occassions and they are always a hit!!! Like the others, I added a bit of garlic to the mixture...cant wait to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe for just about every function I host or attend. Everytime it is a huge hit! The recipe does make a huge amount of filling when it only asks for 18 mushrooms. But it's the perfect amount for me because I usually make a ton of it. I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
this was a huuuge hit on mother's day! I barely got to taste them myself! Even my dad tried and loved them...and he HATES mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
I added garlic to the mixture and some parmeasan cheese and it was wonderful! Raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crab Stuffed Mushrooms

Baked mushrooms are stuffed with seasoned crabmeat.

Mouth-Watering Stuffed Mushrooms

See how easy it is to make sensational stuffed mushrooms.

How to Make Stuffed Mushrooms

Enjoy baked mushroom caps stuffed with a delicious vegetarian filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States