Sausage-Stuffed French Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was ok, but it didn't have the wow taste I was hoping for. Pretty bland, even when we dipped them in homemade marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Hartline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Really yummy. I left out the onion, sausage and fennel. Added in ketchup, worchestire, italian seasoning, garlic powder, thyme and red pepper flakes. You can really change this recipe up any way you want. The bread turned out nice and crunchy. Will be making again. UPDATE: Made this again using chicken breast. I boiled three breast in water for 20 minutes over medium heat. Then chopped up and threw in my food processor. Then combined the chicken, cheese, an egg, some bread crumbs, teryaki sauce, red pepper flakes and s/p. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Skipped the ground beef & used a whole lb of bulk pork sausage (HOT!!! - or mild & add crushed red pepper flakes), also added caraway seed. Stuffed the mix into hollowed out Schwans prebaked frozen french loaves. (I feed the birds with the bread removed rather than put it in the mix, this also eliminates the need for a food processor/blender.) Delish, quick, & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Great sandwich...I did add tomato paste and xtra garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Woller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodboro, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This is like a recipe from one of my Southern Living cookbooks. The only difference in that recipe, is you cut of the ends of the loaf and cut out the insides using a long serrated bread knife. Then you stuff the contents inside and secure ends back with toothpicks. It's a family favorite at our house! Good with a cold cucumber-tomato salad and some chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was just ok. Nothing to write home about. Used extra sharp cheese in place of mozzarella. Served with ranch for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
It was pretty good. Husband said it could be a 5 star, but he's not sure what to change to make it that way! To me there was an overwhelming flavor of mustard, though the husband didn't notice that. Had to switch out the mozzarella for Cheddar, not sure if that affected it or not. Probably not, as we like Cheddar better than mozzarella. I'd make this again if the husband requested it, but I'd reduce the mustard and maybe add some hot pepper flavor from somewhere for us, and/or a few dashes of Italian seasoning. Thanks for the recipe! EDIT 4/10/10: Even though this still needs modifications to make it outstanding, I'm giving it 5 stars because on day 2 I could NOT get enough of the leftovers. What had initially seemed like a strong mustard flavor mellowed overnight and became divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This recipe is perfect for company. Make sure you don't skip the fennel seed. it gives the loaf that perfect bite. I have used this as a cocktail nibble by using a narrow baguette - slicing the loaf into 1" thick slices and serving it with a homemade honey-mustart dip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kismet59

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
We thought this was pretty good. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belhaven, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bath, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States