Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by VIMaverick
Reviewed: May 24, 2015
Quick, easy and delicious! Substituted ground turkey for the sausage, added onions and seasoned to taste while browning. Will definitely be a frequent addition to my menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VIMaverick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
This was AMAZING!!!! I used two med. sized eggplants and three Italian sausage links that I had made . I knew that the sausages were really spicy so I didn't add the additional spices. I scored the eggplants and cooked them for 20 mins @350. They came out of the skin fairly easily, once cooled, using a grapefruit spoon. I browned the meat per instructions but added an onion and a large clove of garlic, one can never have too much onion and garlic. I also added diced mushrooms that needed to be used up. Because of dietary restrictions I didn't top with cheese. My husband, who is usually fairly quiet while eating, kept say "this is really good". The pasta sauce was a simple marinara that I made the day before so the flavours would meld. Top notch recipe that I know will be requested again and again. Thanks so much Tanya, I would give this recipe ten stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bren
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
First time my husband & I EVER had eggplant. I must say it was amazing. Never in a million years think that I would make eggplant. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Anne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was easy to make and a hit at dinner. It tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2014
Wow! What a great different recipe for eggplant! Made pretty much as recipe called but skipped the bread crumbs to keep the carbs lower. See no need for bread crumbs in this but I'm sure it would be good with them too. Only gave four stars bcz it's not a quick and easy recipe, having to pre roast the eggplant etc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I needed new ideas for all the eggplant we've had recently. We really enjoyed this but I made some changes. I lightened it up a little by using turkey sausage. Next time I will not roast the eggplant ahead of time or roast it for far less time. After 30 minutes the eggplant was just about melted. I had to be very careful hollowing it out or I would have been easily left with only skin. Maybe next time I will roast for 15 minutes, then continue in the oven for 20 minutes. With some tweaking this is a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner one night this summer for me and my boyfriend and we both loved it! I think I made it at least once a week all summer. I like to cook the sausage with a small chopped onion, and last time I added about a half cup of red cooking wine to the sausage while it cooked. It added another wonderful layer of flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Andrea
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Great taste! I like to just take the skin off, cube it, and stick it all in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We absolutely loved this one! I think this is our new favorite eggplant recipe. It was very easy to make, and tasted great. I used Bertolli's Vodka Sauce as the pasta sauce, and it didn't overpower at all. I misread the ingredients and used regular bulk sausage, not Italian, but it was still wonderful. The only issue we had was that the skin seemed to get a little tough. I didn't mind it, but hubby is going to just avoid it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States