Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I needed new ideas for all the eggplant we've had recently. We really enjoyed this but I made some changes. I lightened it up a little by using turkey sausage. Next time I will not roast the eggplant ahead of time or roast it for far less time. After 30 minutes the eggplant was just about melted. I had to be very careful hollowing it out or I would have been easily left with only skin. Maybe next time I will roast for 15 minutes, then continue in the oven for 20 minutes. With some tweaking this is a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this recipe for dinner one night this summer for me and my boyfriend and we both loved it! I think I made it at least once a week all summer. I like to cook the sausage with a small chopped onion, and last time I added about a half cup of red cooking wine to the sausage while it cooked. It added another wonderful layer of flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Andrea
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Great taste! I like to just take the skin off, cube it, and stick it all in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We absolutely loved this one! I think this is our new favorite eggplant recipe. It was very easy to make, and tasted great. I used Bertolli's Vodka Sauce as the pasta sauce, and it didn't overpower at all. I misread the ingredients and used regular bulk sausage, not Italian, but it was still wonderful. The only issue we had was that the skin seemed to get a little tough. I didn't mind it, but hubby is going to just avoid it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
LOVED IT. I did make 1 mistake. After I grilled the eggplant and sausage (for extra flavor), I scooped out the eggplant, combined all the ingredients as stated and stuffed it into large prebaked Portobello mushroom caps coated in EVOO and lightly salted. I somehow forgot about the eggplant "boats". It was to die for. I had so much filling left after piling two caps full, that I made the same dish the next night using 6 slightly smaller caps. I found that the caps are so dense where the stem is removed, I chose to slice shallow slits at the thickest part so they would bake evenly. Please try this small change of using the caps vs the eggplant shells. No waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Really good only thing I will do next time is brush olive oil over all of the eggplant because it was a tad rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I chopped fresh mushrooms and sautéed them with the sausage. Tastes good using Italian chicken sausage. Will make again. Had no problem removing the eggplant. Using a small knife, I cut around the edge after the first stage of baking. I gently ran the knife under the meat to loosen it from the bottom and then used a spoon to remove the eggplant meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Even my husband who doesn't like eggplant enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
All of my family loved it! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
great recipe! i made it last night for the 1st time and the very pick boyfriend loved it :) i used chicken sausage but pork sausage would work just as well. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States