Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Angela Andrea
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Great taste! I like to just take the skin off, cube it, and stick it all in the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
We absolutely loved this one! I think this is our new favorite eggplant recipe. It was very easy to make, and tasted great. I used Bertolli's Vodka Sauce as the pasta sauce, and it didn't overpower at all. I misread the ingredients and used regular bulk sausage, not Italian, but it was still wonderful. The only issue we had was that the skin seemed to get a little tough. I didn't mind it, but hubby is going to just avoid it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
LOVED IT. I did make 1 mistake. After I grilled the eggplant and sausage (for extra flavor), I scooped out the eggplant, combined all the ingredients as stated and stuffed it into large prebaked Portobello mushroom caps coated in EVOO and lightly salted. I somehow forgot about the eggplant "boats". It was to die for. I had so much filling left after piling two caps full, that I made the same dish the next night using 6 slightly smaller caps. I found that the caps are so dense where the stem is removed, I chose to slice shallow slits at the thickest part so they would bake evenly. Please try this small change of using the caps vs the eggplant shells. No waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Coxwell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaufort, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Yemassee, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Really good only thing I will do next time is brush olive oil over all of the eggplant because it was a tad rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I chopped fresh mushrooms and sautéed them with the sausage. Tastes good using Italian chicken sausage. Will make again. Had no problem removing the eggplant. Using a small knife, I cut around the edge after the first stage of baking. I gently ran the knife under the meat to loosen it from the bottom and then used a spoon to remove the eggplant meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Even my husband who doesn't like eggplant enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
All of my family loved it! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
great recipe! i made it last night for the 1st time and the very pick boyfriend loved it :) i used chicken sausage but pork sausage would work just as well. i will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Pretty good way to use eggplant. Made more than I expected
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I substituted chicken for the sausage but this was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States