Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I love eggplant to decided to give this a try. It turned out pretty well, but I did make a couple of changes. I swapped out the mozzarella in the sausage mixture for a few tablespoons of parmesan. I also did not use the egg. Next time I might consider salting and draining the eggplant for about half an hour to get rid of some of the bitter juices, and might try regular ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very unique recipe! Next time I think I would try this recipe with hot sausage to spice it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
While it's not going to be a repeat in my house, it's a solid, good recipe. We did it exactly as is and the recipe worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I thought I hated eggplant- until I tried this. Fabulous. Makes for a very impressive presentation too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Loved this recipe. My mom made a similar dish for us when I was a child. She used zucchini squash from her garden instead of eggplant. Husband is not an eggplant fan, but he said I should make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
NUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Excellent, Excellent. A new way to eat eggplant. And because my husband & I are watching our weight, I used turkey sausage, substituted stewed tomatoes for the spagetti sauce and used a little asiago cheese. And all of my recipes have red pepper, onion and fresh garlic. Thanks for a really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Ok, so had an eggplant that needed to be used, and thought I had usable sausage, alas I did not, so I changed this recipe up A LOT, but I like how it turned out. I used sliced turkey instead of sausage, used stuffing crumbs instead of just plain bread crumbs, used some leftover oil/vinegar with lots of italian spices that was part of a cold tortellini salad as the "egg" -- used tomato paste because I didn't have spaghetti sauce, added sliced red onions and baby spinach, grated cheese to the mix, then did slices of pesto jack on top. sounds like a mess, but it turned out wonderful. I never seem to follow recipes, but it usually turns out good, if not better than the original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanie Tingle
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this recipe as it is written and it was outstanding. If I had ordered it at a restaurant I would have happily paid big bucks for it! We'll definitely be putting this one on our menu again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Excellent...I'm not one for grilled or roasted eggplant but this was so awesome, and the flavors were so well blended nothing over powered anything else yet all the flavors came through...I'd love to make as a casserole so I can make for a pot luck or a luncheon....I'll let you know how it turns out....Yumm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States