Sausage-Stuffed Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
The whole family loved it. I used part ground sausage and part ground beef. I also added chopped onions, peppers, and minced garlic to the sauteed meat. We're trying to reduce our bread intake and didn't use breadcrumbs, it was fine without the breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I gave this delightful dish the highest marks mainly because of the incredible blend of flavors and texture. I prepared this last night following the recipe to the letter and was pleased with the results. I did find handling the product somewhat cumbersome. The next time I try this I will use individual gratin dishes for main course servings or ramekins to serve this as an appetizers spread with crostini. The variations and applications are exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
This was excellent! I added onion, green pepper, and garlic while the meat was browning and parmesan and red pepper flakes once it had finished. The flavor was exquisite. I served it to a group of 6, none of whom thought they liked eggplant, and they all LOVED it. Also, I noticed afterwards someone said you needed to seed the eggplant. I did not and it was fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Make this last night, only change was I used chicken italian sausage. The flavor was incredible I love eggplant. I do think next time I will add green pep, onion, and mushroom, it needs more vegies. Thank yoU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michellejo3

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I used Ground Turkey Italian sausage instead! This was Great!!! love eggplant! mostly use eggplant for egg plant permesan, now I found i new way to cook egg plant!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prudwetz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Thanks for the great recipe. I probably would have given it 5 stars if I had followed the recipe. I made the healthy version. I did as some of the other reviewers and used the low fat cheese. I did sub the sausage with ground turkey and seasoned it with garlic salt, red pepper and cayane pepper. I also sauteed a bit of red onion and red peppers with the turkey. It was very good. My husband loved it and ate half of the dish himself. My 4 year-old son had 2 helpings. To me it was lacking some spice in the meat.....which is my fault not the recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I substituted egg whites for eggs and parmesan cheese for bread crumbs, but this turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipes is to die for! I substituted Morningstar Farms Sausage-style recipe crumbles for the sausage since I'm a vegetarian, and it was delicious. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
I make this a lot, but I use 1/2 pork and 1/2 beef, in a food processor I add shiitake mushrooms zucchini, yellow squash and chives, red pepper, spinach if you like. and pulse to the consistency of bread crumbs and then add to the meat. This will cut back on the meat being dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
rmarone............"shut up" ???? Certainly that is not a word to use on Allrecipes. No one is allowed to use those two words in my home or in my presence. Using it to rate a recipe is very inappropriate. I do believe you should discontinue the use of the word here or anywhere for that matter. What message are you sending?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Eggplant Parmesan Casserole

A delicious eggplant casserole with way fewer calories than most.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States