Sausage Steamed Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
We took the meat out and replaced it with white beans to make it vegan. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
Halfed the recipe and it was still a huge pot. It was so good and flavorful and I almost always think recipes taste bland. I will use a whole head of cabbage for a half recipe the next time. Oh, my potatoes were sweet potatoes Cuz that's what came in my CSA box. DELIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MR. A

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Mineral, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Very hearty and good! I made the recipes as written minus rutabaga. Easy to do and fairly budget friendly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Good

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We love this, so simple and great for a cold nights dinner. Next time I make it I'll add more seasoning and garlic. Other than that winner winner chicken dinner!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made a version of this for dinner tonight... And loved it!!! I had all the veggies but I didn't have ham hocks, I used some salt pork and sausage links...I also added garlic and used chicken broth instead of water.... Turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars because the cook time is off. The vegetables took at least 20 minutes longer to cook. But the flavor was delcious! Even my normally picky 9 year old cleared his plate although he said the rutabagas were yuck, he still ate them so I say this recipe was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I left out the rutabagas and turnips. I live in a VERY small town and we very rarely can get anything like that. I also added chunks of bacon and we ate the sausage on the side. In a round-about way, a very hearty meal. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I had turnips, carrots, garlic scapes, cabbage and kohlrabi from my CSA share and didn't know what to make. Pulled out some smoked sausage and started there. I didn't have ham hocks, but not to worry. Sliced the sausage and sauteed with a sweet onion. Deglazed the pan with white wine as well. In a crockpot I put 5 chopped turnips, 1 chopped kohlrabi, carrots, and a few garlic scapes sliced thin. I added a can of black beans and corn and a bouillon cube. Lastly I added a can of mild chiles and didn't add the cabbage until about an hour before serving. My husband said the turnips tasted like potatoes and it was a great soup. Super easy and used my produce the best way I could find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wow! I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, I thought it be bland and boring with no spices or garlic, but it was terrific. I didn't have ham hocks so I used only wild rice brats. I sliced them and sauteed them, then sauteed the root vegetables in a little olive oil, and used chicken broth instead of water. Next time I'd like to add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
this is like Grandma's but she used pork instead and it is even more wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States