Sausage Steamed Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Very hearty and good! I made the recipes as written minus rutabaga. Easy to do and fairly budget friendly. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Good

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We love this, so simple and great for a cold nights dinner. Next time I make it I'll add more seasoning and garlic. Other than that winner winner chicken dinner!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I made a version of this for dinner tonight... And loved it!!! I had all the veggies but I didn't have ham hocks, I used some salt pork and sausage links...I also added garlic and used chicken broth instead of water.... Turned out wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I only gave this 4 stars because the cook time is off. The vegetables took at least 20 minutes longer to cook. But the flavor was delcious! Even my normally picky 9 year old cleared his plate although he said the rutabagas were yuck, he still ate them so I say this recipe was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I left out the rutabagas and turnips. I live in a VERY small town and we very rarely can get anything like that. I also added chunks of bacon and we ate the sausage on the side. In a round-about way, a very hearty meal. Easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Great recipe! I had turnips, carrots, garlic scapes, cabbage and kohlrabi from my CSA share and didn't know what to make. Pulled out some smoked sausage and started there. I didn't have ham hocks, but not to worry. Sliced the sausage and sauteed with a sweet onion. Deglazed the pan with white wine as well. In a crockpot I put 5 chopped turnips, 1 chopped kohlrabi, carrots, and a few garlic scapes sliced thin. I added a can of black beans and corn and a bouillon cube. Lastly I added a can of mild chiles and didn't add the cabbage until about an hour before serving. My husband said the turnips tasted like potatoes and it was a great soup. Super easy and used my produce the best way I could find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Wow! I wasn't expecting much from this recipe, I thought it be bland and boring with no spices or garlic, but it was terrific. I didn't have ham hocks so I used only wild rice brats. I sliced them and sauteed them, then sauteed the root vegetables in a little olive oil, and used chicken broth instead of water. Next time I'd like to add some garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
this is like Grandma's but she used pork instead and it is even more wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
The ONE time I go to buy ham hocks, the store didn't have them. Typical! Instead I used a boneless piece of ham that I diced into chunks. I made it as written, and thought it was pretty bland, so I ended up adding a lot of garlic powder, onion powder, and also some chicken bouillon paste. Much better. Happy New Year everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This recipe is really good! I cooked it in the slow cooker with about 1 1/2 cups evaporated milk instead of water to make it creamy, and it might have actually worked if I'd added more milk as it cooked out. Spicy sausage gave it a nice kick, too. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Sausage Casserole

See how to make a top-rated breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States