Sausage, Spinach and Ricotta Calzone Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used the food processor pizza dough recipe from American Test Kitchen's cook book. I also used 1 lb of ricotta because I wanted to use it up and only 3 links of hot Italian sausage which I browned then gave a quick whirl in my food processor with the spinach and ricotta. I keep a small container of extra virgin olive oil with a garlic clove in it for flavor that I use to brush pizza dough and calzones with before they go into the oven. I also put slashes on top of calzones to allow the moisture in riccota to vent other wise they may explode which I've had happen. I bake them on my pizza stone and serve with a home made pizza sauce from another site. This was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Excellent recipe! I used refrigerator pizza dough and doubled the recipe so I had one to put in the freezer. Probably would've turned out even better had I made the dough from scratch, but it went together very quickly using a premade dough and I had dinner for 2 nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This recipe is great! I did change things up, just a tad. When I sauted the spinach, I added a couple tablespoons of minced garlic. Instead of sausage, I used pepperoni. Since the pepperoni was already cooked, I just used a Tbsp of EVOO to the pan, spinach w/garlic and then added the water. I then drained the liquid and added the pepperoni. Also, once I made the slits on the top, I lightly buttered the top and sprinkled some parm cheese. Even my picky, pizaa loving husband enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Oh my...where to start. First, I'll say that without the many technical errors, this might have been a great recipe. In no way possible did the recipe for the crust make enough for four calzones. I got two, but with one cup of flour (the other 1/2 cup in recipe is for kneading) I should have known. Because of this, I had wayyy to much fillings. I had to throw out almost half of the sausage mix and more than half of the cheeses mix. What a waste! I also had to scramble to figure out what to do, since we are a family of four and I have only two calzones! I had to order a pizza and after all that work I feel a bit frazzled....Sorry, but this recipe just doesn't work as is. I have the two in the oven now for another day....hope they reheat well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Don't listen to the person who said there were so many technical errors. It was the perfect amount for the 4 of us. Not all flour has the same moisture content so 1 1/2 cups could work for some. You shouldn't blame someone because you had to throw out some filling. You could have turned it into something else. It was an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Great recipe! There's enough dough for 4 and it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I cheated and used store-bought dough but the filling was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKJS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
This was excellent! The dough turned out perfectly, and I have never made pizza dough before! We added sun dried tomatoes and replaced the sausage with organic ground turkey- excellent! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I worked for a mom and pop pizza shop in high school and have never been able to find a calzone recipe that equaled. This one was FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We have a great pizza dough recipe we make in our bread machine. It can easily make two medium size pizzas. Since our children were more interested in pizza I had enough dough left over for two large calzones. It was great. My husband has a nitrate allergy, found in most sausage, so we used Al Fresco brand Sweet Italian Style Chicken Sausage (with red and green peppers in it). It comes in links pre-cooked so I diced up two links and warmed them up on the stove. Made the spinach and cheese mixture as directed, except I eliminated all the Italian type seasonings since the sausage already was very flavorful. I added the toppings as directed but sprinkled a tiny amount of mozzarella on top before folding over. Using a fork to pinch the edges works great and looks professional. I baked them on our pre-heated pizza stone for about 18 min and they were perfect. Put pizza sauce on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

These bacony, cheesy chicken breasts make an elegant main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States