Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This is a keeper. I'd say I made it as is, but I didn't. I used tortellini instead of bowtie pasta and cooked it separately as many have suggested. I added real garlic and regular salt and used fresh basil instead of dried. I have to say that the basil really made a different to the broth. I also used diced tomatoes and tomato sauce that I canned and a couple of pepper pellets I made from roasted peppers pureed and frozen in muffin tins (and later moved to freezer bags) and also added zucchini, because why not. I can't wait to eat it again tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I made this soup yesterday and I love it! Love at 1st taste. I did not change a thing...keep the org recipe. I did buy ground It sausage and made small meat balls. I really didnt want to use the links. It was perfect. You could also use any type of meatball really. I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Overall, I liked this soup; the textures and flavors came together nicely, the whole apartment smelled lovely while it simmered, and it provided that sense of hearty satisfaction you hope for with a wintery soup. I can't give it five stars because it seemed to require a lot of modifications; the original recipe would be severely lacking in flavor. Here are the changes I made, based on our own personal preferences... I used a combination of spicy Italian chicken sausage and turkey meatballs for the meat to add flavor and reduce calories. I added the better part of a carton of sliced baby bellas when I put in the onions (1 white, 1 red). I added a little extra tomato sauce, greatly increased the basil, and added salt, garlic powder, chopped garlic, onion powder, cayenne pepper flakes, paprika, and poultry seasoning blend. I also added some red wine vinegar with the pasta, and towards the very end I included frozen corn, fresh spinach and several tablespoons of creme fraiche. I know I deviated a lot from the original, but I was very happy with the end result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
My family and I absolutely love this recipe!!!! delicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Great recipe, very savory. I did use scallions instead of onions, that is what I had on hand. Also, did not have tomatoes so I threw in a can of classico spicy tomato sauce. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riverrose05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grant, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Yum! Even better the next day. I need to remember to make this early in the day and reheat for dinner. Lets the flavors meld better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very good. Made two changes, I used spicy Italian sausage and spinach instead of cabbage. Very hearty. Served with sour dough bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious! We all loved this, and my husband couldn't stop raving about it. I'll definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I was planning to make sausage, peppers and onions for dinner since I had some leftover sausages from the day before, but I thought a nice soup would be perfect for such a cold and windy winter day. I googled "sausage soup" and this recipe came up. I had all of the ingredients on hand, so I made it. I'm glad I did. I sliced the sausages thinly, an obvious step I guess, but not on the recipe. I sauteed them in olive oil and made the rest exactly as the recipe calls for. The results were outstanding. I served it with some homemade bread and with the garlic salt on the side. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglaston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good recipe. I followed the recipe except that I used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt, and cooked the pasta separately. I think that soup improves with time, so I prepared it with everything except the pasta earlier in the day and let it mellow. Near serving time, I added the pasta and cooked until hot. It was easy and very flavorful. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States