Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe. We used the italian brats...Spicy and sweet. Cut them into wheels, leftover cilantro rice and followed the recipe...Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty! Mine ended up more like a stew than a soup as I added only about 4 cups liquid (I planned it that way). I used beef broth as suggested by others. I added 2 lbs sausage, only 1 small can diced tomatoes and used a combo of slow cook rice and orzo (equaling 2 cups). I also added thinly sliced baby zucchini, garlic powder, parsley, black pepper and salt as I did not have garlic salt. I absolutely loved the cabbage on this. I know my variations would not have mattered had the base recipe not been great. Thanks for sharing this with us. Can't wait for leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This recipe is delicious as written, but it's also a great base for variations. My favorite way to make this soup is with link andouille sausage browned and sliced into coins. I've also tried red potatoes instead of pasta, chard instead of cabbage, and so forth. This soup is always delicious! As other reviewers have mentioned, the texture the following day is much better if the pasta is cooked separately and added to each bowl when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a GREAT soup, I used the italian sausage in the casings. Put the Sausage in the stock pot with about 1 incah of water, covered and cooked untill almost done. Cut the sausage in to slices. used the juices from the sausage and the water with the chicken stock for extra flavor. Browned the sausage the rest of the way according to the directions. I used Cheese Tortellini instead of the bow tie pasta. Cooked it with the soup at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Very nice, hearty soup. I didn't change much, only added 2 cups more broth and used less pasta, just 3 small handfulls. I will make this again next winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Princeton, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
My Family and I just love this soup. Thank you for this yummy, pocket book friendly soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
This soup is delicious! I didnt have garlic salt so i used garlic powder and also added a dash of regular salt. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphnearle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is currently our favorite thing for dinner! I have tried it with a few other sausage flavors, but Italian is by far the best. It is a large recipe and lasts several nights! I used rice noodles to make it Gluten free and the substitute worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by floridascrubtech
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I love This Soup, Easy To Make, Comfort Food. A For Sure Winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by floridascrubtech

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is a soup that not only tastes great, but looks great and smells wonderful. I didn't change a thing, and probably won't the next time I make it. It's the perfect soup for a cold winter's day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States