Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
AWESOME SOUP!! While browning the italian sausage, I added the celery/carrots/onions, which slightly sped up the cooking process and used (the wonderfully convenient=my personal favorite) pre-shredded/pre-packaged coleslaw mix. I had to add a little more liquid (I just added additional water) as it started to get a little too thick towards the end but the taste was spectacular!! A few family members garnished with some shredded cheddar cheese over each bowl. Would make again and highly recommend!! Thanks Behr for sharing this recipe! Perfectly satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
This has become a staple in my house and now both my brother-in-laws make it as well. We always season the soup with red pepper flakes and sometimes other italian seasongs...but never without the red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I doubled the amount of sausage (I used spicy instead of sweet) and added red, yellow and green peppers and onions when the sausage was almost done browning. Before I added the celery and carrots I pulled half the mixture out to make sandwiches with for tomorrow. I did not add the pasta and used tomato sauce instead of whole tomatoes. Oh so yummy on these cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by avinamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Was only fairly tasty - so I zipped it up a bit with some herbs and seasonings. I would advise against cooking the pasta in the soup as the residual starch makes it too thick. Continue to simmer the soup while cooking pasta in a separate pot. Obviously drain pasta before adding to soup. Also, since we have our own herbs, I used a good bit of fresh basil leaves, parsley and even a bit of rosemary- and it was fabulous. Decided to use the mini farfalle (bow ties) considering that the tomatoes were huge already. Next time I will use diced tomatoes instead as well. Everything is easier to manage with bite sizes when eating soup. Serve with crusty Italian bread and real butter. Great comfort food on a cold day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Yum! This was a big hit at our house. I added some thawed sweet corn during the last 5 minutes of cooking. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It's a VERY TASTY soup! But, be aware that if you're not going to consume the entire pot of soup in one sitting, consider separating out the pasta for storage or it will absorb most of the liquid and you'll be left with gigantic mushy pasta and little broth. Would have given 5 stars otherwise. Unfortunatey, I didn't have cabbage so I substituted fresh spinach leaves, added at the last few minutes just to wilt it. This helped maintain the bright green color and was a fine alternative. Satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Outstanding for a cold winters day. I too used spicy sausage, substituted beef for chicken broth, used elbow mac (only thing I had on hand), threw in a small piece of parm cheese rind, then served with shredded parm cheese on top. Hubby (who rarely enjoys soup) loved. Very nice - thank you for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I loved this soup! I made it for my husband and daughter, and they both agreed that it was great. This is what I added to the soup, though: 1 clove garlic, finely minced (sauteed with the onion), 1 cup corn, 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes, 4 tsp salt, a few twists of freshly ground black pepper. Oh, and I used 12 oz. chopped Polish sausage because I had no Italian sausage. I just sauteed it in 2 Tbsp of olive oil. I did not use any garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUEAKYCHU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This recipe is even better with Green Peppers and zucchini instead of celery....Great comfort meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! I followed the recipe with only one change. I only had a 14 oz can of whole tomatoes, so I used that and added a small can of tomato sauce. Everyone loved this soup. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D.J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lower Burrell, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States