Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Fantastic recipe! Even my seldom-adventurous brother had three bowls! I didn't have any canned tomatoes, so I substituted tomato sauce. Instead of garlic salt I added a clove of minced garlic. Just for kicks I also threw in red kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious! I added chopped green/red/yellow pepper and fresh sliced mushrooms. Used hot Italian sausage instead of mild. And replaced the whole tomatoes with 2(14 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with garlic and basil. I cooked the macaroni separately and added it to the soup in the individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was delish. I changed and added a few things. I added about 2 teaspoons minced garlic instead of garlic salt. I also added parsley, oregano, red pepper flakes and Italian seasonings. I had some yellow squash which I chopped. I didn't put any celery in. I also used tomato sauce as well as stewed tomatoes. I used smoked sausage, cut into 1/2 inch pieces. We loved it, it is now a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlene Kern
Home Town: Phoenix, New York, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I absolutely loved this soup. I did make two l changes. I omitted the cabbage because I forgot to get some from the store, but I will make sure to get some next time. And I used fresh garlic because that is something I always have in the house. Very enjoyable on this brisk fall day. And it was very quick to throw together. This seems like a very versatile basic recipe, and would be tasty with any combination of substitutions (change up the veggies, beef or chicken broth would probably both be fine, add some herbs or spices, you could even change the type of protein used).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This was amazing. I used sodium free broth, and sauteed some garlic with the vegetables and left out the garlic salt. Otherwise I didn't change anything, it was soooo good! I would recommend simmering for at least a half hour after adding the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOLCE7VITA

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Just finished making it and wow it's pretty amazing! I've never made a soup with sausage and cabbage before and they go really well together especially on a fall day. I did spice it up quite a bit because I didn't need to make it kid-friendly. I added about 5 cloves of minced fresh garlic, about two tsp of chili powder, dashes of oregano, salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, as well as more galic powder... I like garlic. :) I also used fresh tomatoes instead of canned. Next time I think I don't need to use as much sausage or at least do half turkey sausage to cut down on the calories. But very easy, very quick and stores well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mainz, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
ahh...delicious. thickens up after one day...big time, barely even soup. the cabbage is absolute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKinney_88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was really good the first time so I'm making it again today. The only change I make it just to add A bit more heat. Other than that "if it ain't broke don't fix it".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of whole tomatoes and put extra shreadded cabbage into the mix. Added a can of corn and left out the pasta.... Excellent soup... Next time I'll put in an extra pound of sausage.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
This is one of the best soups I've ever eaten store bought, restaurant, or homemade. I agree with others to add more seasonings. I don't like the taste of basil but I loooove garlic! So I did 1 tsp basil, 1 tsp parsley, 1 tsp. garlic salt, 1 tsp. garlic powder, and a dash of rosemary. I found the combo really nice! Flavorful without being too much. I don't think the recipe said this, but I sliced the sausage into little "coin shaped" pieces. I cooked all veggies listed plus added 2 green zucchini and in the last 10 mins of cook time added 1 bag of spinach as well. I think if you are going to cook carrots and zucchini all the way through, it is necessary to cook the soup more like 20 mins. Boil for 10, simmer for 10. This works out well because it gives you a chance to make some garlic bread to go with! Also, if you like lots of broth, you may way to add 3 more cups of chicken broth but again that depends on your preferences. AMAZING soup! I will definitely be making this on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishDncr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States