Sausage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Was only fairly tasty - so I zipped it up a bit with some herbs and seasonings. I would advise against cooking the pasta in the soup as the residual starch makes it too thick. Continue to simmer the soup while cooking pasta in a separate pot. Obviously drain pasta before adding to soup. Also, since we have our own herbs, I used a good bit of fresh basil leaves, parsley and even a bit of rosemary- and it was fabulous. Decided to use the mini farfalle (bow ties) considering that the tomatoes were huge already. Next time I will use diced tomatoes instead as well. Everything is easier to manage with bite sizes when eating soup. Serve with crusty Italian bread and real butter. Great comfort food on a cold day. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Really good. I will put it in crock pot & let it simmer all day. It is really good for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This soup is great just like it is. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Surprisingly good and satisfying. I found this recipe while looking for things to do with a bunch of veggies in my CSA box (cabbage). I did not have carrots so I substituted with a bunch or shredded radishes. The whole thing was positively excellent (and I am not a fan of Italian sausage nor of cabbage, but this soup really rocked).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
So very tasty and simple to make - I just threw all the ingredients in the crock pot for the day! (sausage was cooked)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracy m.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
I tweaked this with just minor changes based on what leftovers I had on hand. Added sliced radishes, yellow squash and leftover ground beef and diced baked potato...then some beef broth for more liquid - I think it tastes really great! Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Used veggie sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Excellent !!! easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very tasty soup! Husband and kids loved it! I did brown the sausage with 4 cloves chopped garlic, omitted the garlic salt, and used frozen zuccini instead of celery. And used only half of 1 med. sized onion (2 whole onions was too much for me!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
It's a VERY TASTY soup! But, be aware that if you're not going to consume the entire pot of soup in one sitting, consider separating out the pasta for storage or it will absorb most of the liquid and you'll be left with gigantic mushy pasta and little broth. Would have given 5 stars otherwise. Unfortunatey, I didn't have cabbage so I substituted fresh spinach leaves, added at the last few minutes just to wilt it. This helped maintain the bright green color and was a fine alternative. Satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States