Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a wonderful treat! I was a bit afraid at first and wondered what my fussy husband would say - he loved it and wants me to make again soon! Only lessened the amount of salt due to our tastes, otherwise great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Cox Martinson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I am VERY surprised by how much I liked this recipe. We only chose to make it because our CSA gave us red cabbage and we had to pick a recipe to make (not being big cabbage fans). Anyway, my husband and I thought it was delicious (although I liked it more than he did). Couple of adjustments based on what we had and one shopping mishap: linguica instead of kielbasa. Sauteed the linguica in butter, and then sauteed the onion in those pan drippings. Replaced lemon with fresh lime juice. Used balsamic wine vinegar + distilled vinegar in place of white wine vinegar (we were out). Also, added more vinegar (added to taste), and reduced the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
What a great recipe; even my two year old loved the cabbage! It was so easy to make. I would have added caraway to the recipe had I had some on hand, maybe next time. I served it with pumpernickel bread and smashed red potatoes and called it my "German Fare Night", the kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was great and easy to make! I followed another person's advice and cut my cabbage into chunks instead of shredded (would do that again!). I used 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 3, and thought 1 1/2 was perfect. I also prefer sliced onions instead of chopped. The apple cooked so much that it became mushy, so next time I will add it to the onions when I cook them. My family thought it needed more sausage, so next time I think I'll add another lb. The recipe sure did taste great, and was perfectly complimented by mashed potatoes and rye bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this with Calvados since I didn't have an apple. Didn't use the butter and dumped a lot less sausage and onion in for the last 15 minutes.. I thought it was going to be awful but was pleasantly surprised. Great way to get color in your diet and on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
very good! nice on cold fall evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Took this as a side dish to a birthday party that offered up italian beef as the main dish. The Cabbage dish was gone and very little of the beef was consumed. I felt bad for the host but think that I learned how to make an awsome dish!! Ernie Blakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Wow, I used a ton of cabbage, and I say it turned out so perfectly flavored!! The sausage really gives it a perfect all you can eat taste! I couldn't eat enough, and normally you can only eat so much of a vegetable right? EXCELLENT!!! New fav recipe! Served w/mashies and toasted rye bread mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was good, but not really good. I used Bratwurst beer sausage a 1/2 cup of suarkruat and a couple of potatoes chopped up. I think some caraway would have been good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States