Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Great German dish. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was a wonderful treat! I was a bit afraid at first and wondered what my fussy husband would say - he loved it and wants me to make again soon! Only lessened the amount of salt due to our tastes, otherwise great as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenMick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I am VERY surprised by how much I liked this recipe. We only chose to make it because our CSA gave us red cabbage and we had to pick a recipe to make (not being big cabbage fans). Anyway, my husband and I thought it was delicious (although I liked it more than he did). Couple of adjustments based on what we had and one shopping mishap: linguica instead of kielbasa. Sauteed the linguica in butter, and then sauteed the onion in those pan drippings. Replaced lemon with fresh lime juice. Used balsamic wine vinegar + distilled vinegar in place of white wine vinegar (we were out). Also, added more vinegar (added to taste), and reduced the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
What a great recipe; even my two year old loved the cabbage! It was so easy to make. I would have added caraway to the recipe had I had some on hand, maybe next time. I served it with pumpernickel bread and smashed red potatoes and called it my "German Fare Night", the kids loved it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was great and easy to make! I followed another person's advice and cut my cabbage into chunks instead of shredded (would do that again!). I used 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 3, and thought 1 1/2 was perfect. I also prefer sliced onions instead of chopped. The apple cooked so much that it became mushy, so next time I will add it to the onions when I cook them. My family thought it needed more sausage, so next time I think I'll add another lb. The recipe sure did taste great, and was perfectly complimented by mashed potatoes and rye bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
Made this with Calvados since I didn't have an apple. Didn't use the butter and dumped a lot less sausage and onion in for the last 15 minutes.. I thought it was going to be awful but was pleasantly surprised. Great way to get color in your diet and on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
very good! nice on cold fall evenings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Took this as a side dish to a birthday party that offered up italian beef as the main dish. The Cabbage dish was gone and very little of the beef was consumed. I felt bad for the host but think that I learned how to make an awsome dish!! Ernie Blakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Wow, I used a ton of cabbage, and I say it turned out so perfectly flavored!! The sausage really gives it a perfect all you can eat taste! I couldn't eat enough, and normally you can only eat so much of a vegetable right? EXCELLENT!!! New fav recipe! Served w/mashies and toasted rye bread mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States