Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is definitively the best cabbage recipe by far! Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I would give this 5 stars, but because my husband wasnt too fond of it, I had to take it down to 4. I liked the fact that the cabbage wasnt your typical sweet, spiced red cabbage. Cooking the sausage in the cabbage gave it a wonderful flavor. The only thing I did differently was to sautee the onion in the dutch oven first and then just add the cabbage- really no need to dirty 2 pans. I also chopped the cabbage an onion into larger bit size pieces rather than shredding and dicing. Very tasty! Served with pierogies and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this! I made it with only one small change and used Sweet Italian turkey sausage because that was what I had in. Freaking fantastic and I don't even like cabbage that much! I just took a chance because it is very low carb (low carb diet here) and red cabbage is a "super food". So not only is this delicious, it is a very healthy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very easy and delicious dish! The only changes I made were salting to taste since some people said it was too salty. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar. It was simple to make and tasted wonderful. I made it alongside spaetzle and the cabbage combined with the spaetzle was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Was not sure about this and did not have all the correct ingredients, but made it anyway. It was great as I made it and probably would have been better with all the right stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Mertz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
love this for my vegan family...just substitute soy sausage (Tofurky) and everyone absolutely devours this! we serve with mashed potatoes for a meal...also the rye bread is a must. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very tasty! I used smoked sausages instead of kielbasa and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
We are not cabbage eaters, but the CSA gives us cabbage! Both my husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't use butter, just some cooking spray. I also used skinless turkey sausage because that is what I buy. I added extra lemon juice and vinegar and a generic all purpose non-salt seasoning. Added the apples with the onions and sausage hoping to keep them a little more crisp, next time I will wait until just before serving to basically heat the apples. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A little too much cabbage. Was still good. we call it the purple plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Yummy just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States