Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
cooking 1 hour and more water seemed better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was very good. I took it to a church dinner because my family doesn't like this kind of dish and there was none left. I liked the combination of flavors, and will try it again with regular green cabbage. I did reduce the salt to 2 tsp. and used rice vinegar. I added the apples to the onions when sauteing and they turned out perfect. I used some ring sausage that a friend gave us and have no idea what kind it was. It was pretty spicy and was the perfect complement to the cabbage. Thanks for the recipe. I'm always looking for new recipes with healthy ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
WOW!! This was really great! My family is German, and we just had a German meal with it! We won't be buying the store bought jarred cabbage anymore!! And it was so easy too! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Louise Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Demotte, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Very tasty. Thank you for this recipe. I went a little crazy on the healthy food at the store the other day and found myself at home with a red cabbage I had no idea what to do with. Even the skeptical fiance is enjoying it. I took another reviewer's advice and sauteed the onions, apples, and sausage all together, then threw them in the with the cabbage to cook a little while longer. The apples came out tender, but not mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Mmmm made this with regular sausages as we don't have any smoked and added the apple at the end to try and save the texture of it as suggested by another reviewer. The sausage, once sliced, fried and added to the 'kettle' (pan with lid), tated devine. But sadly the apple didn't hold it shape as planned but then I don't think was a bad thing at all as it gave a sweetness to counteract the sour lemon throughout the dish. I also used cider vinegar as that what we had. Let's just say that when our veg box gave us another red cabbage this week, I've gone out and bought some sausage to make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This is definitively the best cabbage recipe by far! Will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I would give this 5 stars, but because my husband wasnt too fond of it, I had to take it down to 4. I liked the fact that the cabbage wasnt your typical sweet, spiced red cabbage. Cooking the sausage in the cabbage gave it a wonderful flavor. The only thing I did differently was to sautee the onion in the dutch oven first and then just add the cabbage- really no need to dirty 2 pans. I also chopped the cabbage an onion into larger bit size pieces rather than shredding and dicing. Very tasty! Served with pierogies and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this! I made it with only one small change and used Sweet Italian turkey sausage because that was what I had in. Freaking fantastic and I don't even like cabbage that much! I just took a chance because it is very low carb (low carb diet here) and red cabbage is a "super food". So not only is this delicious, it is a very healthy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very easy and delicious dish! The only changes I made were salting to taste since some people said it was too salty. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar. It was simple to make and tasted wonderful. I made it alongside spaetzle and the cabbage combined with the spaetzle was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Was not sure about this and did not have all the correct ingredients, but made it anyway. It was great as I made it and probably would have been better with all the right stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States