Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've never had saurkraut before & didn't really know what to expect, but it turned out well. The sausage flavor blends in with the rest of the dish, which is really nice. We also had it with mashed potatoes, which was perfect. Definitely a good one for the saurkraut lover(s) in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This is full of flavor and I used turkey sausage as well to cut down on fat. Excellent dish for saurkraut lovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Very yummy way to use leftover cabbage. It also tastes good to use light butter and reduced fat turkey kielbasa if you want to save yourself a lot of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was probably the best recipe I've tried from this site and I've tried a lot of them. The only thing I changed was I added a little more water in the 1st 15 minutes because it looked like the 1/2 cup had steamed away and, I used bratwurst instead of keilbasa. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I love this one! I have made it several times now and it's great to bring to work for lunch too. When I made it today I used Hebrew National Polish Sausage instead of Kielbasa and I also added 1/2 tsp. of carraway seed...it came out great again! It's great with whole grain german style mustard on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2003
Deeeelicious!!!!! Didn't change a thing - just added a little more black pepper since I like spicy. Followed another reviewer' suggestion and served it over mashed potatoes (made garlic mashed potatoes). Great combination - the leftovers are great too. If there are any!!!! Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
This is such wonderful feel good food. My 18 month old cried after he cleared the bowl. My 5 year old picked out the cabbage but liked the rest and my husband went back for thirds. I think this is a great meal because it is so simple, flavourful and would go great with alot of sides. I made a plain white rice with mushrooms which went very well. I will make this again for sure. This is also a meal you can make ahead, and put in a casserole for later. Great for when you just want to come home and pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I often find myself searching for recipes with the ingredients I have on hand...I had green cabbage, red onion and bratwurst. Those were the substitutions I made. Otherwise I followed this recipe precisely and it was absolutely FANTASTIC! I served it over mashed potatoes. I'm going to go pick up some purple cabbage and try this recipe as it states. Oh & I was a bit hesitant about adding the 3rd tsp of salt but glad I did. Thank you grandma of Karen for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
We enjoyed this recipe very much--I took your advise and served it with mashed potatoes-- I will definately make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Outstanding recipe. I cook this often for me and my husband. I have even substituted with turkey sausage and he has not bulked too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMB146

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States