Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This was great and easy to make! I followed another person's advice and cut my cabbage into chunks instead of shredded (would do that again!). I used 1 1/2 tsp. salt instead of 3, and thought 1 1/2 was perfect. I also prefer sliced onions instead of chopped. The apple cooked so much that it became mushy, so next time I will add it to the onions when I cook them. My family thought it needed more sausage, so next time I think I'll add another lb. The recipe sure did taste great, and was perfectly complimented by mashed potatoes and rye bread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is now my favorite recipe. I use whatever cabbage I have on hand and it is always good. I did end up cutting the salt in half, and I love salt! We eat it with potatoes on the side, covered in the extra juice. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Better give this 5 stars, because my husband informed me that he wants to have this for breakfast, lunch and dinner from now on. I took the great advice of others and made just a couple of minor adjustments. I had a fairly large head of cabbage, so I doubled the recipe. But I, too, reduced salt. I added about 1 tsp. of caraway seed (really "makes" it)! Also, I used a large green apple, unpeeled and diced. I would use more apple next time. I added the apple when I put the cooked onions into the pot of cabbage. I used homemade broth instead of water, which added more flavor, and since I doubled it, there was lots of good juice to pour over our baked potatoes. Oh, and I used more vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
FAB-U-LOUS!!! We used fresh polish sausage instead. I cooked it most of the way along with the onions and then added it all to the cabbage to finish cooking. I think the salt amount depends on your sausage. We ate it over mashed potatoes and it was GREAT! My German hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used normal cabbage instead of red one as I had it on hand. I omitted onion as I did not have it. It still tastes good and my German husband LOVES this! Next time, I would reduce salt and add some more apple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Mmmm made this with regular sausages as we don't have any smoked and added the apple at the end to try and save the texture of it as suggested by another reviewer. The sausage, once sliced, fried and added to the 'kettle' (pan with lid), tated devine. But sadly the apple didn't hold it shape as planned but then I don't think was a bad thing at all as it gave a sweetness to counteract the sour lemon throughout the dish. I also used cider vinegar as that what we had. Let's just say that when our veg box gave us another red cabbage this week, I've gone out and bought some sausage to make this again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I am VERY surprised by how much I liked this recipe. We only chose to make it because our CSA gave us red cabbage and we had to pick a recipe to make (not being big cabbage fans). Anyway, my husband and I thought it was delicious (although I liked it more than he did). Couple of adjustments based on what we had and one shopping mishap: linguica instead of kielbasa. Sauteed the linguica in butter, and then sauteed the onion in those pan drippings. Replaced lemon with fresh lime juice. Used balsamic wine vinegar + distilled vinegar in place of white wine vinegar (we were out). Also, added more vinegar (added to taste), and reduced the amount of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I love this one! I have made it several times now and it's great to bring to work for lunch too. When I made it today I used Hebrew National Polish Sausage instead of Kielbasa and I also added 1/2 tsp. of carraway seed...it came out great again! It's great with whole grain german style mustard on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is one my favorite recipes. I substitute spicy vegetarian sausage crumbles for the kielbasa and it always turns out great. I've even made it without any sausage at all because I love the tangy taste of the cabbage in this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Wow, I used a ton of cabbage, and I say it turned out so perfectly flavored!! The sausage really gives it a perfect all you can eat taste! I couldn't eat enough, and normally you can only eat so much of a vegetable right? EXCELLENT!!! New fav recipe! Served w/mashies and toasted rye bread mmmmm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States