Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This was good, but not really good. I used Bratwurst beer sausage a 1/2 cup of suarkruat and a couple of potatoes chopped up. I think some caraway would have been good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Pretty good! My husband loved it but I thought the flavor of the cabbage was a bit strong for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Easy to make and a nice blend of flavors. I used chicken apple sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
My husband really enjoyed this dish as did the kids. (The kids did pick out the cabbage but enjoyed the taste of the sausage from the cabbage.) Made exactly as written but I did use 2 pounds of sausage so I could have leftovers. Glad I did because there was a lot of cabbage leftover. Made with Home Fried Potatoes from this site. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Great comfort food! I made it just like the recipe called for (added red wine vinegar) and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This was just okay. I thought it would be improved by a rough chop of the cabbage instead of the shred. I think it could also use more seasoning, as it seemed rather bland to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRNBEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greentown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was so good!! I was craving cabbage and this hit the spot. I did increase the lemon and wine vinegar by another 2 tsps each, just to give it a little more zing. Served with mashed potatoes, sweet peas and fresh bread. The kids had a difference of opinion on the red cabbage..,3 year old wouldn't even try it but she ate everything else. My 18 month old couldn't get enough of the cabbage. He kept saying "mmmmmm good!" Recommend you give this a try. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This was very good. I used turkey andoulle sausage and it was spicy that way (I have no idea if that would be authentic or not, but it was good!). I added about half a teaspoon of caraway. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and beets. My husband (all american) really liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This was pretty good. I am not a fan of kraut, but my husband is. He liked it. My daughter and I think it's okay. My 3-year-old didn't like it at all...but he doesn't like anything! He's picky! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Very good - if you like slavick food, then you'll love this! I used lowfat keilbasa and I think it would have been too fatty with regular. I also served it with mashed potatoes and it was the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States