Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Great story...my husband was doing anexperiment with red cabbage for a Chemistry class, and so we had almost a whole head of cabbage left and I hate to throw out food...so I turned to allrecipes.com as I do with all my leftover needs. This was a fast and easy recipe. I thin sliced the cabbage instead of shredding it. Sweeter than I expected, but very nice and easy. Also freezes well :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Oh this was such perfect comfort food! I used hot italian turkey sausage and served with mashed potatoes. Leftovers were fantastic and freeze beautifully too.I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
This recipe is on our short-list of favorite Allrecipes submissions. Comfort food at it's best! Serve it with spaetzel or potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
I thought this was very yummy, but I just love sausage and cabbage. My very picky husband even loved this. We froze a bit of it for later and it thawed very well and tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This was a very tasty recipe. To make it a little healthier, I used lean smoked turkey sausage, only about 2 tsp of salt, doubled the cabbage and onion and added about 2 cups raw spinach (great color and didn't really change the flavor). The flavors all come together really well and the apple doesn't make it too sweet. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
FAB-U-LOUS!!! We used fresh polish sausage instead. I cooked it most of the way along with the onions and then added it all to the cabbage to finish cooking. I think the salt amount depends on your sausage. We ate it over mashed potatoes and it was GREAT! My German hubby loved it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Good, a little more flavor would be good. I followed other advice and added some caraway, and used turkey sausage. Not good as leftovers however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This is now my favorite recipe. I use whatever cabbage I have on hand and it is always good. I did end up cutting the salt in half, and I love salt! We eat it with potatoes on the side, covered in the extra juice. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is a very good recipe. I did add caraway seed, and I used apple cider vinegar instead of the white wine vinegar. My husband and I both enjoyed the meal. I did as many other reviewers cut back on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I used normal cabbage instead of red one as I had it on hand. I omitted onion as I did not have it. It still tastes good and my German husband LOVES this! Next time, I would reduce salt and add some more apple. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States