Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was very tasty! Even my husband who claims he does "not like cabbage" found it palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Did not care for this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tresa Brummett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
My husband would rate it a 3, but I'm giving this a 5. My 4 year old and I loved it! My only change was to save cleaning a saute pan, so I cooked the onion in butter until golden, first, and then threw in the cabbage and other ingredients. Use lean, turkey sausage, and this is one easy, healthy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
Turns out good everytime. Family really enjoys this recipe. Usually serve it with orzo or some kind of pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merryc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This was so good! I only used about 1/2-1 tsp of salt, I used turkey sausage and olive oil instead of butter. I sliced my sausage into 1/2" slices. Make sure and use a firm, cooking apple...preferably on the tart side. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
It does not necessarily look all that appetizing because of the purple look of the cabbage. My hungry crew quickly overcame that when they tasted how yummy it was. Extremely easy and loved by all. I will definitely keep this recipe. Thanks for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Just made this dish last night, followed all instructions, EXCEPT used half the salt, and added a little more pepper. It was fantastic! It really delivers a lot for such a small commitment of time and money. Ate it with country style potatoes and bread. Mustard makes it a ++!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Delicious! I used turkey kielbasa and eliminated the butter (we're on Weight Watchers, and every little bit helps), and it was still fantastic. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
So good! This was an incredibly easy meal to put together on a busy weekday night...to make it healthier I did use turkey kielbasa (delicious) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. I think it tasted even better - more sweet, less vinegary - the next day when we fought over the leftovers! And don't skip the dijon mustard and pickle! Great cold weather food:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
We had leftover red cabbage from fish tacos so I came here looking for something to do with it. Based on other reviews, I decreased the salt significantly, but stuck to the recipe otherwise. I used a crisp Granny Smith apple which added just the right amount of tart/ tangy flavor to the dish. My 4 and 7-year-old daughters thought it was "ok", but my husband and I liked it. Served it with mashed potatoes and asparagus and of course, Sriracha hot sauce on the side. We eat many meals with Sriracha ;-) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States