Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband is just teaching himself how to cook. Even though it took him twice as long to make it, the outcome was spectacular! We used spicy Italian sausage. Mashed potatoes & mustard a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was surprisingly delicious. They seemed like an odd combination of ingredients to me, but they worked wonderfully together. The only change I made was to cut the salt in half and there was still plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
This was a fantastic dinner. I added a TBSP of red wine and a TBSP of white vinegar, but other than that, kept to the recipe. The flavors blended beautifully. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
This is so delicious. I would not change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
Disappointing indeed! A lotta work for a mediocre meal. Hear is a better idea. Toss a can of sauerkraut in a pan, toss in a polish sausage (cut and browned) and heat through. Serve with mustard on the side. Fast, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
WONDERFUL! I used lime juice instead of lemon and apple cider vinegar instead of wine vinegar, only because it's what I had. I'm sure it would have been just as wonderful with the original ingredients. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUCHUNK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
We used regular green cabbage and left out the lemon juice and apple. First fried the sausage and onion, then added the cabbage; no need to add butter. Satueed for a few minutes, then added the vinegar, water and pepper. No need for salt; sausage has plenty. Very tasty. Ate with mashed potatos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
I was quite disappointed with this recipe after reading all the RAVING reviews. I definitely wouldn't make it again. I just found it a boring dish. Sorry folks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dae14
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
This is one my favorite recipes. I substitute spicy vegetarian sausage crumbles for the kielbasa and it always turns out great. I've even made it without any sausage at all because I love the tangy taste of the cabbage in this dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dae14
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was sooooo good, and very pretty too. We don't usually have red cabbage, but recieved some in our vegetable order this week. This recipe sounded strange to me, but we had the ingredients, so I decided to give it a try. My husband said it looked like something that he would never eat, but then couldn't stop eating it! He then begged me to put some in his lunch tomorrow! Very satisfying, I added extra wine vinegar for a little extra zing, and served it with rice since we are saving our potatoes for Thanksgiving. Very good. You need to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States