Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Better give this 5 stars, because my husband informed me that he wants to have this for breakfast, lunch and dinner from now on. I took the great advice of others and made just a couple of minor adjustments. I had a fairly large head of cabbage, so I doubled the recipe. But I, too, reduced salt. I added about 1 tsp. of caraway seed (really "makes" it)! Also, I used a large green apple, unpeeled and diced. I would use more apple next time. I added the apple when I put the cooked onions into the pot of cabbage. I used homemade broth instead of water, which added more flavor, and since I doubled it, there was lots of good juice to pour over our baked potatoes. Oh, and I used more vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
loved it!! would be really great with some red potatoes right in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWISER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Makes the best red cabbage and I've tried many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Middleburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Better than I expected! I followed the advice of others and cut the salt down to 1 tsp which was perfect- any more and it would have been way too salty. I used 1 TB olive oil in place of the butter and I used turkey kielbasa to cut calories. I softened the onion in the oil in a large pot 1st then added the remaining ingredients, except for the apple which I added the last 10 minutes. I also added a little caraway seed. The whole family loved this! It is very diet friendly if you use turkey sausage and olive oil. Husband would have liked double the sausage but I thought it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
It was just ok. Something different on a weeknight. Mustard is a must to pull the flavors together. I ended up mixing it with everything on my plate. Served with roasted garlic mashed potatoes. If I decide to make this dish again, I think I would add some bacon to add to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowan Foley
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This was really good but I decreased the salt from 3 to 2 teaspoons and would further decrease it to 1 1/2 teaspoons when I make this again. I also used a light smoked sausage to make the dish healthier. The apples did get mushy so I would add them further along in the cooking process next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was delicious! I think I might add a bit more sausage next time, maybe 1.5 lbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
We really liked this! I made this all in one pan by cooking the onion in olive oil then adding the cabbage and other ingredients in step one. I then added the unpeeled apple for the last 15 minutes. I cut the salt in half as others suggested and used a few splashes of white wine vinegar. Lite Kielbasa also helped cut calories. We'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KelliK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
My husband is just teaching himself how to cook. Even though it took him twice as long to make it, the outcome was spectacular! We used spicy Italian sausage. Mashed potatoes & mustard a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This was surprisingly delicious. They seemed like an odd combination of ingredients to me, but they worked wonderfully together. The only change I made was to cut the salt in half and there was still plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States