Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I loved this! I made it with only one small change and used Sweet Italian turkey sausage because that was what I had in. Freaking fantastic and I don't even like cabbage that much! I just took a chance because it is very low carb (low carb diet here) and red cabbage is a "super food". So not only is this delicious, it is a very healthy recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very easy and delicious dish! The only changes I made were salting to taste since some people said it was too salty. I also used balsamic vinegar instead of wine vinegar. It was simple to make and tasted wonderful. I made it alongside spaetzle and the cabbage combined with the spaetzle was really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Was not sure about this and did not have all the correct ingredients, but made it anyway. It was great as I made it and probably would have been better with all the right stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lance Mertz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Park River, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
love this for my vegan family...just substitute soy sausage (Tofurky) and everyone absolutely devours this! we serve with mashed potatoes for a meal...also the rye bread is a must. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Very tasty! I used smoked sausages instead of kielbasa and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
We are not cabbage eaters, but the CSA gives us cabbage! Both my husband and I loved this recipe. I didn't use butter, just some cooking spray. I also used skinless turkey sausage because that is what I buy. I added extra lemon juice and vinegar and a generic all purpose non-salt seasoning. Added the apples with the onions and sausage hoping to keep them a little more crisp, next time I will wait until just before serving to basically heat the apples. I will definitely be making this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
A little too much cabbage. Was still good. we call it the purple plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Yummy just as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Better give this 5 stars, because my husband informed me that he wants to have this for breakfast, lunch and dinner from now on. I took the great advice of others and made just a couple of minor adjustments. I had a fairly large head of cabbage, so I doubled the recipe. But I, too, reduced salt. I added about 1 tsp. of caraway seed (really "makes" it)! Also, I used a large green apple, unpeeled and diced. I would use more apple next time. I added the apple when I put the cooked onions into the pot of cabbage. I used homemade broth instead of water, which added more flavor, and since I doubled it, there was lots of good juice to pour over our baked potatoes. Oh, and I used more vinegar. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Cookah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
loved it!! would be really great with some red potatoes right in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KWISER

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States