Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was so good!! I was craving cabbage and this hit the spot. I did increase the lemon and wine vinegar by another 2 tsps each, just to give it a little more zing. Served with mashed potatoes, sweet peas and fresh bread. The kids had a difference of opinion on the red cabbage..,3 year old wouldn't even try it but she ate everything else. My 18 month old couldn't get enough of the cabbage. He kept saying "mmmmmm good!" Recommend you give this a try. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This was very good. I used turkey andoulle sausage and it was spicy that way (I have no idea if that would be authentic or not, but it was good!). I added about half a teaspoon of caraway. I served it with garlic mashed potatoes and beets. My husband (all american) really liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
This was pretty good. I am not a fan of kraut, but my husband is. He liked it. My daughter and I think it's okay. My 3-year-old didn't like it at all...but he doesn't like anything! He's picky! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2004
Very good - if you like slavick food, then you'll love this! I used lowfat keilbasa and I think it would have been too fatty with regular. I also served it with mashed potatoes and it was the perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Found this recipe too much trouble for what you got. Sausage and cabbage cooked together without the remaining ingredients tastes almost exactly the same. I was surprised how much the flavor of the apple disappears when combined with the other flavors. Meal was good -- but not enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susanna Joiner Boyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I've never had saurkraut before & didn't really know what to expect, but it turned out well. The sausage flavor blends in with the rest of the dish, which is really nice. We also had it with mashed potatoes, which was perfect. Definitely a good one for the saurkraut lover(s) in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This is full of flavor and I used turkey sausage as well to cut down on fat. Excellent dish for saurkraut lovers. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
Very yummy way to use leftover cabbage. It also tastes good to use light butter and reduced fat turkey kielbasa if you want to save yourself a lot of fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
This was probably the best recipe I've tried from this site and I've tried a lot of them. The only thing I changed was I added a little more water in the 1st 15 minutes because it looked like the 1/2 cup had steamed away and, I used bratwurst instead of keilbasa. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2003
I love this one! I have made it several times now and it's great to bring to work for lunch too. When I made it today I used Hebrew National Polish Sausage instead of Kielbasa and I also added 1/2 tsp. of carraway seed...it came out great again! It's great with whole grain german style mustard on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States