Sausage Sandwich with Sauteed Apple Slices Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by dreamer727
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Pretty good. I made this as directed with sausage patties instead because thats what I had on hand. I did add cinnamon and a little clove to the apples while they were cooking. I was pleasantly surprised at how good they were and how filling also! this was one breakfast my 3 year old son actually ate more than 2 bites. High compliments there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dreamer727

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Cokato, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Very good and easy. I will make this again; the whole family enjoyed it. 1) I'd like to try it with cinn. raisin bread. 2)As another variation I'll try it with chicken & blueberry sausages that we get from time to time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Good sandwich, and a nice combo of sweet and spicy. The amount of sausage you need will depend on how large your sausages are. Mine were kind of small, so I used more. I used higher heat for both the sausages and apples, so that speeded up the preparation. I also used 15 grain bread that made a crunchy and substantial sandwich. I decided to just put the maple syrup in a small container and dip my sandwich into it. Don't try it, it doesn't work very well and the contents of the sandwich fall out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I didn't use the sausage/apple mixture for a sandwich. I paired it with the Brown Sugar Oatmeal Pancakes from this site. I browned half a package of maple sausage links with a whole Granny Smith as to share with my two kids. Really, really good. And it went really well with the pancakes. I'll for sure be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Love this. The only thing I did different was to add cinnamon to the apples, use pre-cooked sausage links that just have to be heated up & double the whole recipe for 2 people. Maybe we eat a lot but that is not enough food for 2 people. It is also longer than 5 mins prep time, no one will have the apples ready so they should be included in the prep time which brings it to about 10 mins. I made this on homemade bread from my breadmaker. My husband laughed at the odd combination the first time I made it but I have made it several times since & he loves it (I just didn't get around to reviewing it). Thanks a bunch. EDIT: I have made this every weekend since. I crave this sandwich all the time. I want to try it with egg sometime instead of apple. You must try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
This is a wonderful and unique breakfast for someone allergic to egg!! My roommate makes it every Friday for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korynball

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Different...but good. No one tried this but me and I enjoyed it. Thanks for posting this unique but yummy breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
This is a great start - Now lets put the sausage and apples on top of French Toast. Then we can make it ahead of time and refrigerate it or put it into individual containers and freeze it for busy week day breakfasts! a really fine brunch dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Apple & Cheddar Cheese Soufflés

A feather-light soufflé with caramelized apples and sharp Cheddar.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States