Sausage Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
This version -- 3. Our family has been making a different version with puff pastry instead of pie crust. Also, we brush a bit of HP brown sauce instead of mustard. I use regular Bob Evans sausage in the chub...just roll it out in a long thin line(normal link thickness)...then brush very lightly with HP. Slice the rolls in to bite-size portions. Bake on a rack on top of a baking sheet until the puff pastry is lightly browned and sausage is fully cooked. Serve warm or cold. I prefer them just colder than room temp. Pass HP sauce to dip rolls in to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANDRONICKY
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I used puff pastry and fresh pork sausages. Very Tasty and quick to make. I think a lot depends on the type of pastry and sausage you use. Batter quality gives a better result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDRONICKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I had high hopes for these bites, but these tunred out oh "eh" for me. I didn't get the greasy factor that others commeted on, however they were lacking flavor. Perhaps it needs an additional flavor packed ingredient in the filling. I may play around with the recipe and report back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
It's rough sub for sausage bread, where one truly needs a bread dough to absorb the sausage liquids and flavor. No sausage...I substituted shredded artichokes hearts, black olives that are sliced and packed with jalepeno, mexican cheese blend and freshly diced tomato, blk pepper, thyme and 3 cloves pressed garlic. Pat the drained and shredded artichokes w/paper towel to dry out, add other ingredients and follow recipe. Spray pan and Brush egg wash over pinwheels . Follow baking instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Thank you this was realy good I just ad a little bit strong cheese it was delicious again thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chantal
Living In: Port Perry, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Good base recipe. I spread cream cheese on the pie crust and then the mustard on top of that, and it was wonderful. Next time I want to add scrambled eggs and make mini breakfast rolls. Lots of possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morethanahomemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanwood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I wasn't sure how these would turn out based on the different reviews others have posted. Ours came out incredible!! I think the fat content in the sausage makes a huge difference. We used an extremely lean sausage meat and they did not come out greasy. The crust was crisp and almost flaky and the flavors blended well. We tried one with a sharp honey mustard and another with Italian blend cheese. They were both delicious. We'll making this again and maybe experimenting with other things to add.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mictlantecuhtli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
After reading the other reviews (and still feeling this had potential) I simply placed the rolls on shallow rack above pan to avoid the grease/burning issues. Tasty...we'll make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This was ok, nothing too special. My husband, who loves sausage only ate a few of them. We found them to be greasy even though I used a lean italian sausage. The grease ended up burning the bottoms a little as well during baking. I'm not sure we'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
these sausage rolls tasted just ok and nothing to write home about. they are more attractive than yummy and disappeared off the plate (slowly)because people wanted to try them, but i did not get any comments or requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Mini Ham and Cheese Rolls

These easy and tasty little sliders are perfect for game day.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States