Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great, hearty soup! I made a few revisions though. I sauteed a whole, chopped onion and some garlic in the pot, then added broth, potatoes, and chopped celery. I let the potatoes cook while I cooked spicy italian sausage on the side. I skipped the red pepper flakes because the sausage was spicy enough for my taste. After about 15 minutes, I added the sausage and tons of kale to the pot. I seasoned with salt, pepper, oregano, and a little garlic powder (what can I say? I really like garlic!). I also added about 2 cups of whole milk and let the whole pot simmer until the kale was tender. Awesome! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I changed the sausage to veggie sausage and added one cup nutritional yeast. This is the best soup ever. Easy to make and the picture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe turned out great! It was so easy! The only change I made was to add in the milk and half and half at the end with the kale. Also, I needed to add a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was a hit for my family! Even my 6yr old loved it! Will definitely be saving this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This was a hit at our house! My dh and my 23 month daughter loved it! She ate everything in the soup and usually she ignores the meat and greens but she ate the whole bowl by herself. I added carrots, celery and garlic and used 2% milk. I sautéed onion, carrots, celery, potato and garlic before adding in the broth. I also added half and half and milk at the end. I definitely making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
Wow-Spicy! I will make it again, but definitely without the red pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2014
This hearty soup can be a side dish or even the main part of the meal. You can be flexible to some extent with your ingredients. If you don't have kale, use spinach. Any sausage will do, I have used pork sausage, italian sausage, and smoked sausage. I often use left over mashed potatoes in place of the potatoes in the recipe. You can use half/half, milk, or cream. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is soooo good...a new household staple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Louise Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Absolutely wonderful soup. Made substitutions based on what was on hand. Used more Kale and less Italian sausage; substituted 1/2 and 1/2 and whipping cream, and milk used was 2%. Used chicken broth and no water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SaraMae
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup was a hit. I made it one night for a first date type of thing. It was the first time I had ever cooked for this man. After being very skeptical of the kale, he absolutely loved it so much he went back for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States