Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Taste too milky and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by LaToya Griffin
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was an easy recipe and it was delicious! I substituted siracha for the red pepper and added mushrooms along with the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaToya Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good flavor soup. Similar to a real New England Clam chowder in style. I make a few changes this time that make it better. Also, I made mine in the slow cooker and added everything but the half of the 1/2 and 1/2 and potatoes until an hour before done. My changes this time: Sauté onions, 2 carrots dices, one stalk of celery. Add pepper and oregano. Deglaze pan with 1/2c Marsala wine but, any wine would do. Cook until evaporated. Add to slow cooker. And I diced the kale to sneak it in for the kids. Don't forget the salt. Not in the recipe. I season as I go. Add the potato and rest of the half and half 45min to an hour before ready. Cooked mine on slow for 6 hours. Future changes: Increase sausage to 1 1/2 pounds Increase Kale to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family really likes this soup. We use the hot Italian sausage, so we omit the red pepper flakes. I also add a drained can of whole corn kernels, a pinch of thyme, and about 1.5 tsp of dehydrated garlic. I probably use more potatoes, so I use 4 C broth and instead of the milk and cream I use about 1.5 C coconut milk...the thick canned kind is creamier than boxed. Anyway, its hearty & flavorful, and gets ya eating Kale! This is a great base recipe to make or tweek if you want to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Great flavor! I add a bit more stock and then only 2-3 cups of half-n-half (no whole milk) plus one leek. I brown the sausage and then put everything in the crock pot for 6 hours. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I make this in the crock pot. I fry the sausage and simply add everything (including the kale) in the crock pot and put it on low for six to eight hours. I love coming home to the aroma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saranac, New York, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Great, hearty soup! I made a few revisions though. I sauteed a whole, chopped onion and some garlic in the pot, then added broth, potatoes, and chopped celery. I let the potatoes cook while I cooked spicy italian sausage on the side. I skipped the red pepper flakes because the sausage was spicy enough for my taste. After about 15 minutes, I added the sausage and tons of kale to the pot. I seasoned with salt, pepper, oregano, and a little garlic powder (what can I say? I really like garlic!). I also added about 2 cups of whole milk and let the whole pot simmer until the kale was tender. Awesome! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I changed the sausage to veggie sausage and added one cup nutritional yeast. This is the best soup ever. Easy to make and the picture is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This recipe turned out great! It was so easy! The only change I made was to add in the milk and half and half at the end with the kale. Also, I needed to add a little salt at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
This was a hit for my family! Even my 6yr old loved it! Will definitely be saving this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States