Sausage, Potato and Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made it today a cold day outside. Its tasty. Pretty much stuck to recipe. The only thing is I would add more onion, chili flakes to my taste. it's yuummmmmm! It will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Had a bunch of kale and no idea what to do with it. This is the first kale dish I made, and it was WONDERFUL! I'm making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
First time trying with the milk. I used turkey Italian sausage added some sea salt and used 2% milk instead of whole, whole cream instead of half and half but used less than recipe suggested and added more broth and finally, I used Purple potatoes instead. It was awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ruthann
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Yummy soup!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
We are on a low carb diet, but I love potato soup. I researched a replacement for the potato, where I still might have the richness of a potato soup in winter. Radishes!!! I know, I was weirded out too. But the bite cooks out of them and they have a very similar consistency of potato. We just scrubbed them and left the skins on. The soup doesn't turn out quite a thick, but the taste is satisfying and wonderful without all of the carbs! Per 100 grams, radishes have 3.4 carbs compared to 17 carbs in the potato. Try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Insane Chefs

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Taste too milky and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by LaToya Griffin
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was an easy recipe and it was delicious! I substituted siracha for the red pepper and added mushrooms along with the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaToya Griffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Good flavor soup. Similar to a real New England Clam chowder in style. I make a few changes this time that make it better. Also, I made mine in the slow cooker and added everything but the half of the 1/2 and 1/2 and potatoes until an hour before done. My changes this time: Sauté onions, 2 carrots dices, one stalk of celery. Add pepper and oregano. Deglaze pan with 1/2c Marsala wine but, any wine would do. Cook until evaporated. Add to slow cooker. And I diced the kale to sneak it in for the kids. Don't forget the salt. Not in the recipe. I season as I go. Add the potato and rest of the half and half 45min to an hour before ready. Cooked mine on slow for 6 hours. Future changes: Increase sausage to 1 1/2 pounds Increase Kale to 3 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
My family really likes this soup. We use the hot Italian sausage, so we omit the red pepper flakes. I also add a drained can of whole corn kernels, a pinch of thyme, and about 1.5 tsp of dehydrated garlic. I probably use more potatoes, so I use 4 C broth and instead of the milk and cream I use about 1.5 C coconut milk...the thick canned kind is creamier than boxed. Anyway, its hearty & flavorful, and gets ya eating Kale! This is a great base recipe to make or tweek if you want to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Great flavor! I add a bit more stock and then only 2-3 cups of half-n-half (no whole milk) plus one leek. I brown the sausage and then put everything in the crock pot for 6 hours. My family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States