Sausage Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
this soup came out great! my nephew said it was better than olive gardens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
couldn't follow exactly, no potatoes on hand...but the flavor combination is good and I was able to use what I had in the freezer for the meats...good on single digit cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley P.
Living In: Cambria, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Good with or without chicken. Don't skimp on the kale - it maintains consistency for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
Great soup. I added more fresh herbs from my garden like chives, basil, oregano, sage, winter savory and a touch of dill. This made a nice savory yet light broth. Extra red pepper made this a super nice dish. Updated: A can of navy beans adds even more nutrition to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
This was very tasty. The zuppa toscana soup at Olive Garden is my all time favorite so I was more than excited to try this one out. I took the advice of another recipe and added bacon and garlic. I also diced up 3 large potatoes instead of using frozen. I never really favored the kale so I used fresh spinach instead. Turned out great! Definitely one of my favorites! UPDATE: I do prefer the kale over the spinach I just use a little less kale than called for. Still so delicious! Also be very particular about what sausage you use because it makes all the difference in the flavor. I learned that the hard way. The first two times I loved the soup. when I made it again I used an off-brand that was on sale, I really did not like the outcome of the soup. Then I made it again with the same sausages I used the first two times and it was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennyO
Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Very good and easy! Added no chicken. Used spinach, not kale, fresh Italian parsley. Added cooked rice to thicken it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great for anyone with a cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Sensational!! This soup is just fantastic. I know people get annoyed when we highly rate recipes and then mention all the changes we make, but I thought two meats in the soup was a little much so I actually replaced the chicken with cannellini beans. That's all. Delicious! A great way to eat kale if the idea of it scares you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHNORMAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Benton City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very good soup! I think I basically followed the recipe as a guideline It was really good, kinda spicy and the hubs asked me to make it again which is always a good sign!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shalaine_1
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Followed as close as I could without buying tons of prepackaged food. I left out the chicken, it doesn't really need it. I bought Mild Italian Pork sausage and took the casings off. I peeled and diced 3 white potatoes. Super easy and delious. The kids even ate it and didn't complain about the heat from the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States