Sausage, Potato, Carrot Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I heavily altered this recipe since first trying it. I bake in a rectangular pyrex dish which I coat the entire bottom well with olive oil. The potatos used are pretty important. I strongly recommend using Yukon potatos. I also chopped up a huge Spanish onion, 5 cloves of garlic (instead of 4), and added parsely. I love Kielbasa but sometimes I use a family-pack size ring of fresh sausage from a local supermaket. I was too lazy to put in carrots (don't like them anyway). Bakes fabulously at suggested settings in the recipe. I bake this every two weeks since it makes enough food for me to take to work for 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vacaychick
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I used one package regular smoked sausage and one package turkey smoked sausage, and I used unpeeled red potatoes and cut them into smallish pieces. Since I was in a hurry, I bumped up the oven temp to 375, put everything into my roaster, covered it, and it was done in about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
After reading all of the reviews I decided to put my own little twist on this. I adjusted the recipe to feed 3 people. If you love onions, chop them into nice larger pieces and use a little more than 1/2 of one. Also, I sliced the Kielbasa in 1/2 before cutting the 2-in. pieces. I threw everything in a mixing bowl first to make sure I could stir all of the seasoning as evenly as possible. I chopped a bit of fresh parsley and added paprika with the salt and pepper. After I poured the ingredients into the 9x13 baking dish, I measured out the olive oil into a small bowl and added honey and balsamic vinegar. Obviously that makes for more sauce, so I don't suggest initially coating the bottom of the dish with olive oil because ours was a bit too saturated at the end. That said, this came out so delicious and I'm not even that big of a fan of sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just made it tonight. Super easy and we loved it. The onions carmelize in the pan. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Trem
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Nice easy dinner.. didn't use 3 quarts of oil though.. made half recipe and one tablespoon was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Trem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I thought it was delicious - but I made a few changes. I used Turkey Kielbasa, and added quartered red potatoes (so I only used 3 white potatoes), one and a half large onions in wedges, and because my garden is full right now, I added a red pepper, a green pepper, rosemary, basil, thyme, and large chunks of zucchini. I followed another reviewer's recommendation and tossed it all in a bowl with some olive oil, kosher salt, and cracked pepper first. I roasted it all covered at 375 for 30 minutes, and then at 400 for 10 minutes just to reduce all the juices a bit. My whole (picky!) family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Loved this recipe, very simple to make and my picky son ate it without complaint. The only thing that I added was two tablespoons of dried parsley. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Really delicious and so easy! The prep work only took about 15 minutes and then you can sit around on the couch while your delicious dinner is getting ready! I used Montreal steak seasoning instead of salt and pepper, and it turned out delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Withum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
So simple and so darn good! I did add some sliced celery to this and some mushrooms I needed to use up. I also love that this makes enough for 2 more meals for me. A short prep, then I enjoyed smelling the wonderful smell while I sat with my feet up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Easy, quick to prepare, and a huge hit with my hubby! I'm planning to serve this the next time we have guests over....I didn't change a thing. The onions caramelized beautifully, and the sausage crisped up nicely. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bluegrassgirl

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Roasted Potato and Sausage Quiche

A super-simple holiday brunch is ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States