Sausage, Peppers and Spaghetti Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I had to make a few changes for what I had on hand. I omitted the red pepper and green onion and instead used some chopped fresh mushrooms and diced yellow onion. Instead of fresh tomatoes, I used a 28 oz. can of whole peeled tomatoes, drained and added two TBS of tomato paste. I used Mild Italian sausage instead of sweet. I made the sauce in a nonstick skillet, so I did not need nor use the olive oil. (plenty of oil after sauteing and draining the sausage to saute the vegetables in) I will be making this recipe again, as the sausage gives it sooo much flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I used vanilla in place of cooking sherry. 1 to 2 tsp vanilla to 2 tbls of sherry. Don't forget the garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I have tried a few different types of sauces with spaghetti squash but this tops them all! I used spicy Italian turkey sausage and a sweet red wine instead of the sherry. The grocery store was out of fennel so I just threw in some baby spinach at the last to add some more colour. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I used local sweet sausage from Kulick's Market. I only used 1/4 cup of fennel seeds that I roasted and added them to the tomato. Warmed up the squash and in another fry pan I cooked the peppers, onions, mushrooms and extra fresh garlic chopped! Added the sausage to this that I had partially cooked. Then served this on top of the spaghetti squash!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
My boyfriend and I LOVED this recipe. We used sage sausage and roasted the spaghetti squash with olive oil and salt and pepper. I will say that I would add some garlic or herbs to the squash to make it a bit more flavorful, but the fennel and vegetables used pair really well together. It was very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Delicious! I have never cooked with spaghetti squash before, and my whole family loved it. I forgot to get the fennel, but I will make sure have it next time. Im not familiar with that either, so I'm not sure what the difference in flavor there might be. But again, was a hit even without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
I really liked this recipe. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Delicious! Needed a bit too much salt though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I have made this many times and everytime it comes out great. The only thing that I change is, I leave out the fennel. I never have it on hand and I don't think you are missing much by leaving it out. I have also made this with canned tomatoes and it is still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shannon
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Loved this recipe. Decided to make it bc I had just received the majority of the Veggies from my weekly local food co-op basket. I had NEVER cooked spaghetti squash before or fennel. I only wish the recipe had had the directions on how to cook the squash as I had to look elsewhere to find the correct way to prepare it. For those who are like me and have no idea.. cut the squash length wise and scoop out seeds, the place face down on a oiled baking sheet and bake for 45m in a 350 degree oven. Then scoop out the squash. It was pretty easy to do... once I found someone online to tell me how to do it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States