Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was PHENOMINAL!!! One of the best recipes that I have tried from this site, hands down. Super simple to put together and the flavor was just awesome. I made this exactly as written aside from omitting the red peppers because I didn't have any and adding in a few cloves of whole garlic. I used hot Italian sausage. My little guy wiped his plate clean, and so did we, lol! This is a definate 10 star recipe that I will be making VERY OFTEN! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The minute I saw Christina's photo and read her review of this recipe, I new we would love it. Wow! It is excellent!! Followed the recipe with the exception of using 1 each of green, red, yellow and orange peppers and threw in a couple of carrots I needed to use up. I also did not peel the new red potatoes. A couple of the kids and I don't usually care for spicey (hot), so I used 1 pound of sweet itialian and 1 pound of hot italian sausage. This was the perfect blend for us. I also threw in a little fresh thyme and fresh parsley right before putting it in the oven. It did take apporox. 40 min in my oven. This is definately a recipe that will be a reapeat here. Everyone loved it and said they are looking forward to having it again soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Quite good and will definitely make again. Even though I scaled it down to 2 servings, I doubled the wine & stock and used a lot more seasoning than called for (we like things well seasoned!)... I do see why the sausage is done separately to brown properly, but didn't see any reason to separately cook veg, so I just put potatoes alone for a few minutes, added onions and cooked a few minutes more, then peppers for a few minutes and then used the liquids to quickly deglaze the pan, then poured the whole thing into a baking dish. Hubby didn't even make it all the way in the front door before remarking on how good dinner smelled =) DEFINITELY serve with some kind of yummy bread or roll to sop up the juices with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
OUTRAGEOUS! I can't wait to make this for company. I cut the recipe ingredients to 4 servings except for liquid - kept that at 8 as others suggested. I did not have chicken broth so I used all wine. Commenters said it lacked flavor so I seasoned everything (except sausage) liberally with Goya seasoning and Italian herbs before sauteing them. The potatoes were perfect (I was skeptical). I put a lid on the peppers and onions which helped to soften them quickly. I cannot tell you how good and flavorful this came out. There were only 2 of us and we ate almost the entire dish ourselves. I'm eating the leftovers-not sharing! :) Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
The only changes I made were to 1/4 the recipe and use tiny little red potatoes that I didn't need to cut. This dish was bursting with flavor. I made sure that the veggies were almost completely cooked in the skillet which helped to keep the baking time to 20 minutes. My husband and toddlers love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! I put my own spin on it. Cut everything down to half. Instead of wine I used beer(Im so used to it with sausage and was too lazy to get a bottle of wine :P ) and i doubled the chicken stock. I also added cajun seasoning and garlic salt as well as about 4 cloves of garlic. it was delicious! the potatoes came out PERFECT and very soft, the sausage had great flavor. im not even a big pepper fan but i absolutely loved them this time around. will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I used less sausage and extra potatoes to make this more budget friendly. I prepared this according to directions but instead of baking I had Mrdrea cook it in a foil pan on indirect heat on the grill. It took about 45 mins on the grill. I served this with a caesar salad and homemade croutons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was super easy and delicious. I have even made it with regular smoked sausage and it works great too. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
One of the best recipes on allrecipes!!! Only change was I doubled the sauce (as other reviewers suggested) and added corn kernels- fantastic!! exactly what I was looking for! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Luscious! Made it as stated in the recipe. I needed to add a little dry red wine because I didn't have quite enough white but that made no difference. I was tempted to add some fresh basil, but it didn't need it and I'm glad I didn't. I also used hot Italian sausage I got from my favorite butcher. This is simple and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States