Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was PHENOMINAL!!! One of the best recipes that I have tried from this site, hands down. Super simple to put together and the flavor was just awesome. I made this exactly as written aside from omitting the red peppers because I didn't have any and adding in a few cloves of whole garlic. I used hot Italian sausage. My little guy wiped his plate clean, and so did we, lol! This is a definate 10 star recipe that I will be making VERY OFTEN! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very tasty. I did halve the recipe since there's only my husband and myself here and also only used chicken stock since I didn't have any white wine. It was very delicious, colorful with the peppers, etc. and smelled great while it was baking. Thanks for the recipe, Beccabo73.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The minute I saw Christina's photo and read her review of this recipe, I new we would love it. Wow! It is excellent!! Followed the recipe with the exception of using 1 each of green, red, yellow and orange peppers and threw in a couple of carrots I needed to use up. I also did not peel the new red potatoes. A couple of the kids and I don't usually care for spicey (hot), so I used 1 pound of sweet itialian and 1 pound of hot italian sausage. This was the perfect blend for us. I also threw in a little fresh thyme and fresh parsley right before putting it in the oven. It did take apporox. 40 min in my oven. This is definately a recipe that will be a reapeat here. Everyone loved it and said they are looking forward to having it again soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! I put my own spin on it. Cut everything down to half. Instead of wine I used beer(Im so used to it with sausage and was too lazy to get a bottle of wine :P ) and i doubled the chicken stock. I also added cajun seasoning and garlic salt as well as about 4 cloves of garlic. it was delicious! the potatoes came out PERFECT and very soft, the sausage had great flavor. im not even a big pepper fan but i absolutely loved them this time around. will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My mother-in-law showed me how to make this for my husband when I was first married a long time ago. (we are Italian) It is delicious, we never used the wine, I never did like wine in my food. So it tatses just as good without it. I really didn't use chicken broth since the sausage eludes alot of juices and oils to cook in. We baked it in the oven giving it a roasted taste, that is when we had time, if not we did it on the stove top also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We loved this recipe! I took a short cut and have used a bag of frozen potatoe cubes with diced peppers and onions. But for the rest I have followed the recipe - Can not believe what a great flavor the wine and broth gave to the potatoes. It was almost has it was soaked in. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have used spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Browning the potatoes before adding to the dish, and the addition of the wine to the stock really sets it apart from other similar recipes. I added carrots and adjusted the amount of peppers accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPAULDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
i just wanted to say this recipe was amazing. i did change some ingredients to lower the fat. I used turkey sausage, turkey kielbasa, and was out of chicken stock, so I used 1 1/2 cups of white wine and seasoned the dish with adobo. My kids were very satisfied. i also paired it up with brown rice. What a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amzaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Luscious! Made it as stated in the recipe. I needed to add a little dry red wine because I didn't have quite enough white but that made no difference. I was tempted to add some fresh basil, but it didn't need it and I'm glad I didn't. I also used hot Italian sausage I got from my favorite butcher. This is simple and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
OUTRAGEOUS! I can't wait to make this for company. I cut the recipe ingredients to 4 servings except for liquid - kept that at 8 as others suggested. I did not have chicken broth so I used all wine. Commenters said it lacked flavor so I seasoned everything (except sausage) liberally with Goya seasoning and Italian herbs before sauteing them. The potatoes were perfect (I was skeptical). I put a lid on the peppers and onions which helped to soften them quickly. I cannot tell you how good and flavorful this came out. There were only 2 of us and we ate almost the entire dish ourselves. I'm eating the leftovers-not sharing! :) Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States