Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
So delicious! I used smoked sausage, as my boyfriend and I do not care for spicy Italian. I also added celery to the veggie mix and strictly chicken stock as I did not have white wine. Next time I will use the wine, it might give it an extra boost of flavor. Other than that this dish was so delicious and easy! Great way to use up veggies in the house! I will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzbth488

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Followed the directions exactly for the potatoes and it took them 35-40 min to cook. Season well! Other than waiting around for it to finish cooking, it was great! Nice looking too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! The flavors from the wine and chicken broth are amazing. I didn't change anything - except, I only had 1.5 lbs of sausage, so that is all I used. I didn't change anything else. I used sweet italian sausage. Next time I will try a mix of hot and sweet. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARAB1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Fantastic! I did change a few things to suit my own tastes and keep the calories down. First, I omitted the 1/4 c. of olive oil; I found 2 tbsp to be plenty. I didn't have white wine or chicken stock on hand but I did have vegetable stock which I used instead. I also added a dash of red pepper flakes, and I was very liberal with the Italian seasoning. Oh and I added two cloves of garlic, minced. I baked the potatoes separately to start, intending to put everything into the oven, but I ended up (after about 20 minutes of baking) adding the potatoes to the skillet with the sausage and vegetables, and covered them for probably another 15-20 minutes until they were perfectly tender. I also recommend adding a little feta cheese over top when served; really takes it up a notch! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medina, Texas, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The purists will hate this review, but because so many people tweak recipes which I generally find VERY helpful, I'm going to do it with this review. I love the ingredients and the "guts" of the recipe, however, after making this many times, I alter it to make it a little healthier and to cut down on the prep time. I dice up my potatoes, toss them with a little canola oil, spices to taste, and bake on parchment paper for 20-22 minutes. While they're baking, I brown my sausage (smoked turkey sausage) and then sautee my onions and peppers in the measly drippings the low-fat turkey sausage provides. When the potatoes are done, I combine them with the sausage, onions, and peppers and sprinkle with a little cheese (usually mozz or parm), then toss back in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese. Voila! Served with a simple green salad, this is a family favorite that's quick for a busy weeknight dinner, or anytime some good, old-fashioned comfort food is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I prepared as written with the exception of throwing some fresh garlic in with the potatoes. Rustic, easy, and delicious! We served this with some fried cabbage and it was a wonderful on a cold November night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was pretty good, but not the best thing ever. I saw in the pictures that some people use bigger chunks of potatoes rather than the slices called for in the recipe, so I did too. Even though I had them nice and brown, they too longer than the 20 minutes in the oven to get fully cooked. I should have cooked them longer in the skillet. If I make this again, i will try the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yum, a great dinner no matter how it's done. Simple food simple to make. Leaves a satisfied feeling in the tummy, all around the table. Serve with good Italian or French bread, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Perfect fall comfort food. I just made a few changes. First, I cooked the potatoes (doubled recipe) in the oven in olive oil (make sure you spray glass dish and heat olive oil before added potatoes. Add salt/pepper) for about an hour. I cooked onions and peppers in seperate pan and sausage in another. I drained and patted sausage with a paper towel and added everything into potatoes. I didn't use wine, but did use the chicken stock 1/3 cup. It came out great. I Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 333) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States