Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
i i wanted to add potatoes to the usual sausage and peppers. great template, i used hot turkey sausage, and a couple of tablespoon of chipoltle peppers in adobe sauce instead of the wine and stock, added water to the drippings and let that reduce a minute or so and baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Tried this last night - husband loved it and finished all of it. He hates peppers so only put in one - he thought they tasted great - next time I'll add more peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
My husband's Italian family makes a version of this and I was hoping to surprise him with an even better version. This was good - but not what I was looking for. I used kielbasa instead of italian sausage (his family uses kielbasa) and I thought that substitution was fine, didn't seem to make a difference overall. I stuck exactly to the recipe for everything else. It was "good" - but not "great". I thought the potato portion was overwhelming. I will cut back on the potatoes next time (or omit them altogether). Also - the recipe doesn't really explain the potato part very well - do I cook them COMPLETELY on the stove top? Or are they going to finish cooking in the oven? I ended up having to cook the dish in the oven closer to an hour because my potatoes weren't getting done. I think with a little tweaking to the recipe, this would easily be 5 stars. But cooked as-is, it was just good. I'll still try it again with a few other changes and update my review then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was really delicious. I used sweet turkey sausage, added fresh garlic and red pepper flakes. The only thing I'll do different next time is cut the potato slices thinner, I ended up having to cover the dish with aluminum foil for extra 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Used spicy italian sausage links and raosted the potatoes in the oven on 350 in a single layer (I cut them into slices) before adding the cooked sausage and veggies on tops, then baked and topped with cheese. Variations have become a regular meal in this house. Tonight Im trying it with spicy chicken sausage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Renee Sarah Sampson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Amazing! Halved the recipe and I wish I didn't! I omitted the white wine and used more chicken stock instead. I also only used 2 teas of olive oil in the beginning not the 1/4 cup. The sausage rendered off enough fat and oil its unnecessary to add more. I used red potatoes, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and added carrots which I thought was a good move. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Love this recipe. Like others, I add tons of garlic before putting it in the oven, which, for a garlic-lover is a must. I also add some red pepper flakes since I usually buy mild sausages. I also add some of the spice to the potatoes when frying, and I use vermouth instead of white wine, which is my go-to. These are minor changes, though, really, and the recipe is awesome. It's one of my husband (and mine!) favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Super easy, we used two pans and cooked the sausage and potatoes at the same time to save time. The kids even liked it, which makes this one even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
So simple and so delish! Followed the directions to the T but next time will uses either turkey or chicken sausage to cut the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 343) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Sausage-Stuffed Piquillo Peppers

See how to make Spanish-influenced stuffed pimento peppers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States