Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was pretty good, but not the best thing ever. I saw in the pictures that some people use bigger chunks of potatoes rather than the slices called for in the recipe, so I did too. Even though I had them nice and brown, they too longer than the 20 minutes in the oven to get fully cooked. I should have cooked them longer in the skillet. If I make this again, i will try the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yum, a great dinner no matter how it's done. Simple food simple to make. Leaves a satisfied feeling in the tummy, all around the table. Serve with good Italian or French bread, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Perfect fall comfort food. I just made a few changes. First, I cooked the potatoes (doubled recipe) in the oven in olive oil (make sure you spray glass dish and heat olive oil before added potatoes. Add salt/pepper) for about an hour. I cooked onions and peppers in seperate pan and sausage in another. I drained and patted sausage with a paper towel and added everything into potatoes. I didn't use wine, but did use the chicken stock 1/3 cup. It came out great. I Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
We love this recipe. I had been looking for a recipe for italian sausage that the family would like. Wow! This is it. The flavors are delicious. The leftovers are even good re-heated (that is, IF there ever are any leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was something different from the usual. I used Country Crock light butter because I did not have any olive oil on hand. This recipe was worth every minute of prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Not bad, didn't feel like the flavors really soaked in. I didn't use any wine though, just chicken stock, and I seasoned the out of it before hand. I also substituted chicken for sausage so that could've made a huge difference. It's easy enough to do and worth another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe totally saved my night tonight. I couldn't think of anything to make for dinner so I came to Allrecipes and this is the first one I saw. SUPER easy to make, fairly cheap in ingredients, and it didn't take very long to prepare. I had to alter the recipe just a little since I was only cooking for two. I used red wine instead of white wine because it's what I had at home. Dinner turned out GREAT. Flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So savory, so simple. We loved this dish. I don't care for green peppers so used yellow and red peppers. The dish is as beautiful as it is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I thought it was great, I used chicken sausage, threw in some mushrooms, turnips and parsnip in the party. One fry pan, 1 baking dish 1 full meal, with leftovers for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StableBoy

Displaying results 111-120 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States