Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
The purists will hate this review, but because so many people tweak recipes which I generally find VERY helpful, I'm going to do it with this review. I love the ingredients and the "guts" of the recipe, however, after making this many times, I alter it to make it a little healthier and to cut down on the prep time. I dice up my potatoes, toss them with a little canola oil, spices to taste, and bake on parchment paper for 20-22 minutes. While they're baking, I brown my sausage (smoked turkey sausage) and then sautee my onions and peppers in the measly drippings the low-fat turkey sausage provides. When the potatoes are done, I combine them with the sausage, onions, and peppers and sprinkle with a little cheese (usually mozz or parm), then toss back in the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese. Voila! Served with a simple green salad, this is a family favorite that's quick for a busy weeknight dinner, or anytime some good, old-fashioned comfort food is desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
I prepared as written with the exception of throwing some fresh garlic in with the potatoes. Rustic, easy, and delicious! We served this with some fried cabbage and it was a wonderful on a cold November night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I have to tell you that I'm eatting this as I'm writting - not easy but worth it!!!! This is wonderful!!! I did read a review before I made it that said it was greasy and that the person would never make it again, so was a little worried. However, there were such easy solutions to that and it sounded sooooo good, I just had to try it and I'm so glad I did!! I have a few confessions to make, however - 1. I didn't use Italian sausage (OMG! I know, I know! So sorry!) I used sausages from Toulouse as I could just grab them at the supermarket instead of going to a specialty store; 2. I did not add the 1/4 cup of oil for the potatoes, but just browned them in the fat that was left from the sausages and followed with the peppers and onions, and thus, less grease;3. I didn't have any pre-mixed Italian seasoning so threw in a bit of dried thym, oragano, basil and a sprinkle of hot red chili pepper. I had some roquette that, as you may know must be used quickly or it's lost, so tossed a handfull on top after serving and it was FANTASTIC!!! LOVE IT! Will definately make this again and again, for me, as well as for friends! Thank you!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taylor
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This was pretty good, but not the best thing ever. I saw in the pictures that some people use bigger chunks of potatoes rather than the slices called for in the recipe, so I did too. Even though I had them nice and brown, they too longer than the 20 minutes in the oven to get fully cooked. I should have cooked them longer in the skillet. If I make this again, i will try the slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Yum, a great dinner no matter how it's done. Simple food simple to make. Leaves a satisfied feeling in the tummy, all around the table. Serve with good Italian or French bread, please!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Perfect fall comfort food. I just made a few changes. First, I cooked the potatoes (doubled recipe) in the oven in olive oil (make sure you spray glass dish and heat olive oil before added potatoes. Add salt/pepper) for about an hour. I cooked onions and peppers in seperate pan and sausage in another. I drained and patted sausage with a paper towel and added everything into potatoes. I didn't use wine, but did use the chicken stock 1/3 cup. It came out great. I Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
We love this recipe. I had been looking for a recipe for italian sausage that the family would like. Wow! This is it. The flavors are delicious. The leftovers are even good re-heated (that is, IF there ever are any leftovers). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was something different from the usual. I used Country Crock light butter because I did not have any olive oil on hand. This recipe was worth every minute of prep!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Not bad, didn't feel like the flavors really soaked in. I didn't use any wine though, just chicken stock, and I seasoned the out of it before hand. I also substituted chicken for sausage so that could've made a huge difference. It's easy enough to do and worth another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe totally saved my night tonight. I couldn't think of anything to make for dinner so I came to Allrecipes and this is the first one I saw. SUPER easy to make, fairly cheap in ingredients, and it didn't take very long to prepare. I had to alter the recipe just a little since I was only cooking for two. I used red wine instead of white wine because it's what I had at home. Dinner turned out GREAT. Flavorful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States