Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was PHENOMINAL!!! One of the best recipes that I have tried from this site, hands down. Super simple to put together and the flavor was just awesome. I made this exactly as written aside from omitting the red peppers because I didn't have any and adding in a few cloves of whole garlic. I used hot Italian sausage. My little guy wiped his plate clean, and so did we, lol! This is a definate 10 star recipe that I will be making VERY OFTEN! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very tasty. I did halve the recipe since there's only my husband and myself here and also only used chicken stock since I didn't have any white wine. It was very delicious, colorful with the peppers, etc. and smelled great while it was baking. Thanks for the recipe, Beccabo73.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
The minute I saw Christina's photo and read her review of this recipe, I new we would love it. Wow! It is excellent!! Followed the recipe with the exception of using 1 each of green, red, yellow and orange peppers and threw in a couple of carrots I needed to use up. I also did not peel the new red potatoes. A couple of the kids and I don't usually care for spicey (hot), so I used 1 pound of sweet itialian and 1 pound of hot italian sausage. This was the perfect blend for us. I also threw in a little fresh thyme and fresh parsley right before putting it in the oven. It did take apporox. 40 min in my oven. This is definately a recipe that will be a reapeat here. Everyone loved it and said they are looking forward to having it again soon. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Delicious! I put my own spin on it. Cut everything down to half. Instead of wine I used beer(Im so used to it with sausage and was too lazy to get a bottle of wine :P ) and i doubled the chicken stock. I also added cajun seasoning and garlic salt as well as about 4 cloves of garlic. it was delicious! the potatoes came out PERFECT and very soft, the sausage had great flavor. im not even a big pepper fan but i absolutely loved them this time around. will DEFINITELY make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
My mother-in-law showed me how to make this for my husband when I was first married a long time ago. (we are Italian) It is delicious, we never used the wine, I never did like wine in my food. So it tatses just as good without it. I really didn't use chicken broth since the sausage eludes alot of juices and oils to cook in. We baked it in the oven giving it a roasted taste, that is when we had time, if not we did it on the stove top also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We loved this recipe! I took a short cut and have used a bag of frozen potatoe cubes with diced peppers and onions. But for the rest I have followed the recipe - Can not believe what a great flavor the wine and broth gave to the potatoes. It was almost has it was soaked in. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have used spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Browning the potatoes before adding to the dish, and the addition of the wine to the stock really sets it apart from other similar recipes. I added carrots and adjusted the amount of peppers accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPAULDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
i just wanted to say this recipe was amazing. i did change some ingredients to lower the fat. I used turkey sausage, turkey kielbasa, and was out of chicken stock, so I used 1 1/2 cups of white wine and seasoned the dish with adobo. My kids were very satisfied. i also paired it up with brown rice. What a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amzaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
OUTRAGEOUS! I can't wait to make this for company. I cut the recipe ingredients to 4 servings except for liquid - kept that at 8 as others suggested. I did not have chicken broth so I used all wine. Commenters said it lacked flavor so I seasoned everything (except sausage) liberally with Goya seasoning and Italian herbs before sauteing them. The potatoes were perfect (I was skeptical). I put a lid on the peppers and onions which helped to soften them quickly. I cannot tell you how good and flavorful this came out. There were only 2 of us and we ate almost the entire dish ourselves. I'm eating the leftovers-not sharing! :) Thank you submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Luscious! Made it as stated in the recipe. I needed to add a little dry red wine because I didn't have quite enough white but that made no difference. I was tempted to add some fresh basil, but it didn't need it and I'm glad I didn't. I also used hot Italian sausage I got from my favorite butcher. This is simple and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Coloma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States