Sausage, Peppers, Onions, and Potato Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Very tasty. I did halve the recipe since there's only my husband and myself here and also only used chicken stock since I didn't have any white wine. It was very delicious, colorful with the peppers, etc. and smelled great while it was baking. Thanks for the recipe, Beccabo73.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
We loved this recipe! I took a short cut and have used a bag of frozen potatoe cubes with diced peppers and onions. But for the rest I have followed the recipe - Can not believe what a great flavor the wine and broth gave to the potatoes. It was almost has it was soaked in. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I have used spicy Italian sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Very tasty and quick to make. I also halved the recipe for 2 people and there is still some nice leftover for lunch next day. I served it with a fried egg on top and some pickles. My husband loved it too. I will make it again, but next time I will use less sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This was delicious. I used less sausage and extra potatoes to make this more budget friendly. I prepared this according to directions but instead of baking I had Mrdrea cook it in a foil pan on indirect heat on the grill. It took about 45 mins on the grill. I served this with a caesar salad and homemade croutons
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
Took this dish to a party over the weekend. Everyone raved about it. Had many requests for the recipe. Didn't have the white wine but those who tasted it, said didn't need it. I don't usually take a new recipe to a party, but in this case it was a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I decided to make this on the spur of the moment after realizing that we were going to have the same old boring grilled sausage, but that we had the veggies that needed to be used. As a result, I ended up basically making half the recipe, but with an extra potato and only half an onion. I also skipped the wine and chicken stock because I didn't have them on hand. This was an awesome meal...so much so that as a person who is indifferent about sausage, I had a couple extra pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
UPDATE: MADE THIS AGAIN, BUT THIS TIME, I SEASONED MY POTATOES (SLICED BABY YUKON GOLDS) AS THEY BROWNED AND AGAIN BEFORE BAKING - PERFECT! WHAT A BIG IMPROVEMENT!!! I USED ALL HOT ITALIAN SAUSAGE AND ADDED TONS OF FRESH GARLIC (WHOLE CLOVES). MY HUSBAND AND I COULD NOT GET ENOUGH! :) Not bad. My fiance and I used to enjoy this very dish at a local Italian restaurant. Unfortunately, that place has gone out of business (darn!). This is about as close as I'll get to my beloved meal. :) The only difference between the two is that this calls for red AND green bell peppers and quite a bit less liquid (the restaurant dish literally swam in liquid, but ironically enough, the veggies were not mushy in the least!). My only suggestion for improvement is to s&p your potatoes while they are browning IN ADDITION TO seasoning to taste PRIOR to baking. My fiance thought our potatoes were a tad underseasoned as is. A side salad tossed with Danielle M's Greek / house dressing and warm Italian bread completed our simple meal. With some tweaking, I know this will become a favorite at our house! Thanks for sharing, Becca! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was ok, it feels like it needs some kind of sauce, my picky eaters would not finish their plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
This was PHENOMINAL!!! One of the best recipes that I have tried from this site, hands down. Super simple to put together and the flavor was just awesome. I made this exactly as written aside from omitting the red peppers because I didn't have any and adding in a few cloves of whole garlic. I used hot Italian sausage. My little guy wiped his plate clean, and so did we, lol! This is a definate 10 star recipe that I will be making VERY OFTEN! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Quite good and will definitely make again. Even though I scaled it down to 2 servings, I doubled the wine & stock and used a lot more seasoning than called for (we like things well seasoned!)... I do see why the sausage is done separately to brown properly, but didn't see any reason to separately cook veg, so I just put potatoes alone for a few minutes, added onions and cooked a few minutes more, then peppers for a few minutes and then used the liquids to quickly deglaze the pan, then poured the whole thing into a baking dish. Hubby didn't even make it all the way in the front door before remarking on how good dinner smelled =) DEFINITELY serve with some kind of yummy bread or roll to sop up the juices with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States